The Flaming Lips and New Fumes
“Girl, You’re So Weird”

I have nice tits, so why am I not in the latest Flaming Lips music video? In any case, The Flaming Lips and New Fumes have teamed up for an NSFW video for “Girl, You’re So Weird,” a collaborative track from the upcoming Record Store Day LP, The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends. But Fumes’ contribution to the album doesn’t end with that track. According to The Future Heart, New Fumes also “made the 20,000 multi-color-psychedelic-each-unique records,” which included getting Erykah Badu’s blood for the picture disc version! Holy shit!

The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends is out April 21, Record Store Day, via Warner Bros.

• The Flaming Lips:
• New Fumes:
• Warner Bros.:

DJ Final Trip


In August 2010, a guy named Johnny started uploading (shitty, IMO) remixes of Susan Boye, Lady Gaga, and Britney Spears. But by the end of the month, Johnny, a.k.a. DJ Final Trip, was uploading weird sound experiments on his synth, such as “House Renegade” and later “Distractions Will Keep us Alive.” By the end of the year? We were treated to some surprisingly interesting noise tracks — including an 18-minute cut called “Pagan Misanthrope With The Number Of The Beast” and (my favorite) “Pretentiosity” — as well as an extremely muffled beat that he made for his hero Lil B.

Then came footwork. In 2011, DJ Final Trip was releasing a shitload of bizarre tracks with a footwork/based inflection, such as “Based Food Diet,” “Dream Girl,” and “Ocean With No Map.” He also released a musique concrète-meets-footwork track called “Truly Alone,” a satirical interview where he calls himself a composer, and a video of him showing off his hair. There’s even a “How to Be Like DJ Final Trip” on wikiHOW.

Sure, no one’s really given him the time of day, despite his many releases. But his presence — as a person, musician, and self-mythologizing (performance) art project — is kinda hard to ignore. Is this a Lil B meets DJ Rashad meets Daniel Johnston meets Nurse with Wound sorta thing? Not really. But maybe a satirist fucking with some music and having a laugh on the way? The journalist in me wants to know the answer, but the remaining 95% doesn’t give a fuck. Just check out “Adderall,” a track that DJ Final Trip, the self-proclaimed “leader of the #SIT movement,” sent to us. As he put it himself, it’s a “Goth-Juke Banger.”

• DJ Final Trip:
• DJ Final Trip:
• DJ Final Trip:
• DJ Final Trip:

Patrick Higgins & MIVOS Quartet

“Fourth Movement - Deviation”

Continuing his journey in composition, Patrick Higgins presents “Deviation” from the forth movement of his String Quartet No.2 production with MIVOS Quartet. His ear for sound and craft of vibrating wood presents tremendous composure within a piece teetering on the brink of madness. This was also all recorded live by Ben Greenberg in December 2011. Now, he ain’t bringing along the MIVOS Quartet along with him on his tour, but continue to scope the tour Twitter and drop Patrick and tourmate Sam Hillmer a line. #goofau

• MIVOS Quartet:
• Patrick Higgins:

Outer Limitz

“I Kontact”

We’re contractually obligated to cover music coming from Hippos in Tanks, which is why we’re posting about Outer Limitz. The project, essentially Sam Mehran (of short-lived group Test Icicles), has just dropped a single for “I Kontact.” Keywords: narco-VHS, iTunesOuterLimitz, R&B&POP, MTVHive, 1NF1D3LC0WB0Y, GetThaFuckOuttaMyEar. This music will/won’t/shouldn’t change the world.

• Outer Limitz:
• Hippos in Tanks:
• Weird World Record Co:

White Suns

“Footprints Filled”

“Footprints Filled” reminds me why I love LOAD Records. It’s also helping to solidify 2012 as an amazing year for “heavy” music, because White Suns are heavy, both literally and figuratively… or wait, I mean, I’m not saying they’re overweight and shit, but, like, it’s loud and also an epic trip. Listen to “Footprints Filled” here:

• White Suns:


“Reverse Inverted”

I don’t know what the bat that pissed in guitarist Andrew Elstner’s eye was thinking, because Torche might just be one of the best things to happen to sludge-pop since the Meat Puppets. By now, you’ve probably snagged “Kicking” — the balls-out, horns-up first single. Now, the Floridians have shared another track from their upcoming Harmonicraft (due April 24). “Reverse Inverted” has the same crunchy goodness you’ve come to expect from Torche, along with some downright hummable solos to add just enough pop to cut through the muck. There’s also a nice, Sabbath-y groove that sprawls throughout — hey, great bands with bat problems think alike. If you’re not a bat and you’re a fan of early, pre-suckage Foo Fighters or Houdini-era Melvins, be sure to give “Reverse Inverted” a listen.

• Torche:
• Volcom Entertainment:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.