Jib Kidder

Last month, Portland’s visual/sound sampling artist Sean Schuster-Craig released a new album as Jib Kidder titled Music for Hypnotized Minds, the 11th volume in Asthmatic Kitty’s series of experimental albums (dubbed Library Catalog Series). For his fantastic entry, Schuster-Craig uses the first 10 albums in the series as source material, crafting an intriguingly catchy yet temporally-displacing set of songs. Check out the video above for “Blue,” which sees him taking a similar approach by delving into the Asthmatic Kitty video archives to construct this fitting visual accompaniment.

• Jib Kidder: http://www.myspace.com/jibkidder
• Asthmatic Kitty: http://www.asthmatickitty.com

Mark Fell

“Manitutshu (A New Algorithm)”

Mark Fell, who released a couple fantastic albums last year, has a double 12-inch due May 27 on Editions Mego. According to eMego: “In January 2011 Mark was invited by Erik Wiegand (aka Errorsmith) to make some presets for his new software synthesizer which he was building for Native Instruments. After developing about 40 sounds, Mark decided to rework his UL8 project by extending the pattern generating systems used in its construction, which he then connected to the sounds produced in Erik’s synthesizer.”

Oooooh! Can’t wait to hear it :) :) :) :) !!

• Mark Fell: http://www.markfell.com/wiki
• Editions Mego: http://editionsmego.com


“Thousand Square”

Mountains, which features Brendon Anderegg and Koen Holtkamp, will release Air Museum May 10 on Thrill Jockey, five days before they head out on a European tour. I couldn’t confirm this before publishing, but I hear they love flashlights.

• Thrill Jockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com

Ebo Taylor

“Peace On Earth”

This week, good ol’ reliable Strut released a two-disc retrospective for Ghana’s Ebo Taylor, titled Life Stories: Highlife & Afrobeat Classics 1975-80. The album focuses on solo albums and obscure side projects, including his work with the Apagya Show Band, Assase Ase, Super Sounds Namba, and The Pelikans. According to the man himself: “I was trying to fuse rock and jazz together with highlife. This kind of music was ahead of its time — not very popular when we recorded it!” Amen.

Stream “Peace on Earth” above, and seek out last year’s Love and Death, which features new Taylor material.

• Ebo Taylor: http://ebotaylor-lifestories.com
• Strut: http://www.strut-records.com


“Try to Sleep” [feat. John Stamos]

Low have a new video for “Try To Sleep,” and it features John Stamos. (FYI: People tell me I look exactly like John Stamos. I also tell people I look exactly like John Stamos.) Here’s what Stamos had to say about the video:

I’m actually good friends with their producer Matt Beckley, and he had played me some of the record while they we’re making it, which I loved. Ironically it turns out I was a big fan of one of their older songs “Cue the Strings”… I’m a sucker for a well written song with great harmonies, and when it came time for them to cast the video, they asked if I’d like to be involved, I liked the concept I was happy to be a part of it. The new record is on all the time at my place. One of my favorite indie bands.

Low’s new album, C’mon, is due April 12 on Sub Pop. Check out Low on tour (dates at Sub Pop).

• Low: http://chairkickers.com
• Sub Pop: http://www.subpop.com

Roll The Dice


Got 15 minutes to spare? Good, then check out Roll The Dice’s 15-minute-long live performance of “Undertow,” which will be featured on a two-track, limited-edition 12-inch EP, Live In Gothenburg - August 7 2010, due on Record Store Day (April 16). The group is composed of two Swedish gentlemen: Malcolm Pardon and Peder Mannerfelt. One of them is in Fever Ray. Can you guess which one?

• Roll The Dice: http://rollthedicesthlm.com
• The Leaf Label: http://www.theleaflabel.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.