Lawrence English
“Frost’s Bitter Grip”

Thanks to Altered Zones for shedding some light on this new piece by Lawrence English, one of the last decades most prolific proponents of sound as art (sound art). You can get a taste of his upcoming LP on label/mailorder site Experimedia via this time-warped video. And I don’t just say ‘time-warped’ because its an easy critical bullshit-spewing trendy term! “Frost’s Bitter Grip” actually feels like time slowing down, or at least as if a giant orchestral movement has been chopped and screwed and blared from distance. There is a lumbering gorgeousness here, much like William Basinski’s now canonized Disintegration Loops or that super slowed down Justin Beiber track. It all brings to mind the divide between the macro and micro world, as if nature unifies all music somewhere along the spectrum of time, even if it takes our technology to reveal that point.

• Lawrence English:
• Experimedia:

Andrew Felix

Intermediate State

This is a fairly thrilling bundle of drone and electronic sludge from Andrew Felix, via I Had An Accident records. The first track particularly exposes a slow burning dynamic range, with ominous vibrating drones continuously interrupted by high register synth blasts and other strange, clanking noises. Of course, by track two the drone is interrupted by an industrial size big-beat, paving the way for a more fractured dystopian whole. Stream the full album below:

• I Had An Accident:


“Crystalline” [directed by Michel Gondry]

Björk, who everyone used to call an “Icelandic pixie,” has released a video for “Crystalline,” the first from her forthcoming album, Biophilia. It’s directed by Michel Gondry, who was at one point penciled in to collaborate with National Geographic on a 3D film for the album (which would’ve been much cooler than this whole app business, according to every Android and non-iOS user in the world). Look out for Biophilia on September 27 via Nonesuch/One Little Indian/

• Björk:


Renewable Destination

Caboladies have a new album out on Students of Decay – well, it was out, now it’s sold out. Fuckin’ lame! You can still listen to a sampling of three tracks from the LP on the labels soundcloud page, or right here:

• Caboladies:
• Students of Decay:

Holy Strays


Parisian artist Holy Strays has just released his debut 7-inch, “Enlightenment,” on Not Not Fun. “Phrenesia,” the track streaming above, is the single’s B-side. And hey, since we’re now in the Holy Strays mood, it’s worth checking out his recent remix of Forest Sword’s “Trust Your Blood” over at No Pain In Pop’s SoundCloud page.

• Holy Strays:
• Not Not Fun:

The Flaming Lips and Lightning Bolt

“I Wanna Get High But I Don’t Want Brain Damage”

Two of the most boring bands of all-time, The Flaming Lips and Lightning Bolt, have recorded an EP together. Great. More lame singer/songwriter crap! The four-track 12-inch EP will be available this Tuesday at Newbury Comics in Harvard Square, where Wayne Coyne himself will be bringing copies of the EP along with some gummy treats. Check the intro to the video above for more info, followed by the video for one of their collabo tracks, entitled “I Wanna Get High But I Don’t Want Brain Damage.”

• The Flaming Lips:
• Lightning Bolt:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.