“DX Heaven”

LA futuro-funk prophet DāM-Funk has just unveiled a previously unheard instrumental. “DX Heaven,” which dates back to 2007 (coincidentally, the year of the dolphin), is a spaced-out groove that was, aside from the drum machine, recorded entirely live in the hallowed spaces of the Funkmosphere lab. It’s a tranquil, gentle beast, with an understated bassline, stuttery drums, and woozy synths. Consider it seven minutes in funk heaven.

• DāM-Funk: http://stonesthrow.com/damfunk


“Flowers to Bees”

Spectrum Spools, the imprint of Emeralds’ John Elliott, shows no sign of stopping. It’s also not slowing to a snail’s pace or throwing in the towel or drainin’ the Jamba Juice. Proof? The label has just announced a couple new albums, one by Drainolith and one called Parthenon by PLVS VLTRA, the new moniker of Toko Yasuda, ex-member of Enon, touring keyboardist for St. Vincent, and human of Japanese origin. Now, it’s not surprising that Yasuda is still making incredibly poppy music, but it is surprising that Spectrum Spools will be releasing it. So… surprise!

Parthenon is due May 29 on Spectrum Spools. Check out its first single, “Flowers to Bees,” here:

• PLVS VLTRA: http://soundcloud.com/plvs-vltra
• Spectrum Spools: http://editionsmego.com/spectrum-spools
• Editions Mego: http://editionsmego.com

The Flaming Lips and New Fumes

“Girl, You’re So Weird”

I have nice tits, so why am I not in the latest Flaming Lips music video? In any case, The Flaming Lips and New Fumes have teamed up for an NSFW video for “Girl, You’re So Weird,” a collaborative track from the upcoming Record Store Day LP, The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends. But Fumes’ contribution to the album doesn’t end with that track. According to The Future Heart, New Fumes also “made the 20,000 multi-color-psychedelic-each-unique records,” which included getting Erykah Badu’s blood for the picture disc version! Holy shit!

The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends is out April 21, Record Store Day, via Warner Bros.

• The Flaming Lips: http://www.flaminglips.com
• New Fumes: http://gonewfumes.blogspot.com
• Warner Bros.: http://www.warnerbrosrecords.com

DJ Final Trip


In August 2010, a guy named Johnny started uploading (shitty, IMO) remixes of Susan Boye, Lady Gaga, and Britney Spears. But by the end of the month, Johnny, a.k.a. DJ Final Trip, was uploading weird sound experiments on his synth, such as “House Renegade” and later “Distractions Will Keep us Alive.” By the end of the year? We were treated to some surprisingly interesting noise tracks — including an 18-minute cut called “Pagan Misanthrope With The Number Of The Beast” and (my favorite) “Pretentiosity” — as well as an extremely muffled beat that he made for his hero Lil B.

Then came footwork. In 2011, DJ Final Trip was releasing a shitload of bizarre tracks with a footwork/based inflection, such as “Based Food Diet,” “Dream Girl,” and “Ocean With No Map.” He also released a musique concrète-meets-footwork track called “Truly Alone,” a satirical interview where he calls himself a composer, and a video of him showing off his hair. There’s even a “How to Be Like DJ Final Trip” on wikiHOW.

Sure, no one’s really given him the time of day, despite his many releases. But his presence — as a person, musician, and self-mythologizing (performance) art project — is kinda hard to ignore. Is this a Lil B meets DJ Rashad meets Daniel Johnston meets Nurse with Wound sorta thing? Not really. But maybe a satirist fucking with some music and having a laugh on the way? The journalist in me wants to know the answer, but the remaining 95% doesn’t give a fuck. Just check out “Adderall,” a track that DJ Final Trip, the self-proclaimed “leader of the #SIT movement,” sent to us. As he put it himself, it’s a “Goth-Juke Banger.”

• DJ Final Trip: http://www.twitter.com/djfinaltrip
• DJ Final Trip: http://www.djfinaltrip.bandcamp.com
• DJ Final Trip: http://www.last.fm/music/dj+final+trip
• DJ Final Trip: http://www.youtube.com/cryptodahfinaltrip

Patrick Higgins & MIVOS Quartet

“Fourth Movement - Deviation”

Continuing his journey in composition, Patrick Higgins presents “Deviation” from the forth movement of his String Quartet No.2 production with MIVOS Quartet. His ear for sound and craft of vibrating wood presents tremendous composure within a piece teetering on the brink of madness. This was also all recorded live by Ben Greenberg in December 2011. Now, he ain’t bringing along the MIVOS Quartet along with him on his tour, but continue to scope the tour Twitter and drop Patrick and tourmate Sam Hillmer a line. #goofau

• MIVOS Quartet: http://www.mivosquartet.com
• Patrick Higgins: http://patrickhigginsmusic.com

Outer Limitz

“I Kontact”

We’re contractually obligated to cover music coming from Hippos in Tanks, which is why we’re posting about Outer Limitz. The project, essentially Sam Mehran (of short-lived group Test Icicles), has just dropped a single for “I Kontact.” Keywords: narco-VHS, iTunesOuterLimitz, R&B&POP, MTVHive, 1NF1D3LC0WB0Y, GetThaFuckOuttaMyEar. This music will/won’t/shouldn’t change the world.

• Outer Limitz: http://o-u-t-e-r-l-i-m-i-t-z.tumblr.com
• Hippos in Tanks: http://hipposintanks.net
• Weird World Record Co: http://www.weirdworldrecordco.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.