Chocolate Grinder Mix 05
“Brained By Falling Masonry”

This was originally supposed to be my "indie rock" mix. I don't listen to a whole lot of it and thought it'd be a nice challenge to create a mix that would, in my mind, place more emphasis on the form rather than the content -- trying to examine the recurring characteristics of my mixes through a style I'm admittedly very picky about. However, my predilection towards the more adventurous quickly seeped its way in. Consequently, what results is a mix that I feel unfairly makes some of the "noisier" sounds -- Alva Noto, Anthony Pateras & Robin Fox, Giuseppe Ielasi -- function as "transition" tracks (so if you find these tracks interesting, seek out the albums!). I suppose the assumption is that melodic music is more befitting of a mix -- but, oddly enough, what originally started out as an "indie rock" mix now has me thinking about how I can turn this assumption on its head. Are you pumped to hear this mix now??

"Brained By Falling Masonry" tracklist:

01. Alva Noto - "Xerrox Teion" (Xerrox Vol. 2)
- Start time: 0:00; Links: raster-noton - Alva Noto
02. Banjo Or Freakout - "Mr No" (single)
- Start time: 1:55; Links: No Pain in Pop - Banjo or Freakout
03. Anthony Pateras & Robin Fox - "You're All Answers" (End of Daze)
- Start time: 6:40; Links: Editions Mego - Anthony Pateras & Robin Fox
04. Cryptacize/C. Spencer Yeh - "Mini-Mythomania" (remix of Mythomania)
- Start time: 12:17; Links: Asthmatic Kitty - Cryptacize- C. Spencer Yeh
05. Shearing Pinx - "Smarts" (Ultra Snake)
- Start time: 15:35; Links: Endless Latino - Shearing Pinx
06. Antony and the Johnsons - "The Crying Light" (The Crying Light)
- Start time: 18:01; Links: Secretly Canadian - Antony and the Johnsons
07. Giuseppe Ielasi - [Untitled - Track 1] (Aix)
- Start time: 21:09; Links: 12k - Giuseppe Ielasi
08. Blackout Beach - "Astoria, Menthol Lite, Hilltop, Wave of Evil, 1982" (Skin of Evil)
- Start time: 24:27; Links: Soft Abuse - Blackout Beach
09. Mirah - "Gone Are the Days" ((a)spera)
- Start time: 29:21; Links: K - Mirah
10. Lotus Plaza - "Whiteout" (The Floodlight Collective)
- Start time: 32:59; Links: Kranky - Lotus Plaza

Artwork: [Keith Kawaii]

Chocolate Grinder

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we’ll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.