♫♪  Chocolate Grinder Mix 09 - “Acid in the Style of David Spade”

This mix is intended to take us somewhere, if not spiritually, then at least geographically. We start out in Philadelphia with Hermit Thrushes (new LP Slight due in June) and travel to various U.S. cities like Brooklyn with Dirty Projectors ("Stillness Is the Move" 12-inch single on Domino), New York with Headless Heroes, Oakland with Cryptacize, Atlanta with Deerhunter (Rainwater Cassette Exchange EP due in June on Kranky), and Williamsport with Akron/Family (new LP Set 'Em Wild, Set 'Em Free due 5/5). After making a short but sweet stop with Yonlu in Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, we head to Ethiopia to catch Mulatu Astake with UK-based The Heliocentrics. The mix ends in West Africa, first in Burkina Faso with Hermas Zopoula (whose Espoir will be released May 19 via Asthmatic Kitty) and then in Senegal with Mor Thiam, the latter of which takes us all the way back to 1972 (a reissue of Thiam's Spiritual Jazz will be released soon on Now-Again Records). In this age of globalization, it's refreshing to know that music can still overtly reflect a geographical bias.

01. Hermit Thrushes - "Snowflake Heart" (Slight Fountain)
- Start time: 0:00; Links: Joyful Noise - Hermit Thrushes
02. Dirty Projectors - "Stillness Is the Move" (Bitte Orca)
- Start time: 2:04; Links: Domino - Dirty Projectors
03. Cryptacize - "Tail & Mane" (Mythomania)
- Start time: 7:18; Links: Asthmatic Kitty - Cryptacize
04. Deerhunter - "Rainwater Cassette Exchange" (Rainwater Cassette Exchange EP)
- Start time: 10:33; Links: Kranky - Deerhunter
05. Akron/Family - "Everyone Is Guilty" (Set 'Em Wild, Set 'Em Free)
- Start time: 12:50; Links: Dead Oceans - Akron/Family
06. Headless Heroes - "True Love Will Find You in the End" (The Silence of Love)
- Start time: 18:43; Links: Names - Headless Heroes
07. Yonlu - "Little Kids" (A Society in Which No Tear Is Shed Is Inconceivably Mediocre)
- Start time: 22:00; Links: Luaka Bop>http://www.luakabop.com] - [Yonlu
08. Mulatu Astake & The Heliocentrics - "Addis Black Widow" (Inspiration Information)
- Start time: 23:16; Links: Strut - The Heliocentrics - Mulatu Astatke
09. Hermas Zopoula - "Alpha Et Omega" (Espoir)
- Start time: 26:53; Links: Asthmatic Kitty - Hermas Zopoula
10. Mor Thiam - "Ayo Ayo Nene" (Spiritual Jazz)
- Start time: 29:20; Links: Now-Again Records - Mor Thiam

Artwork: [Keith Kawaii]

Chocolate Grinder

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we’ll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.

Most Read