♫♪  Mary Halvorson Quintet - “Sea Seizure (No. 19)”

On October 5, the Mary Halvorson Quintet, featuring guitarist Mary Halvorson, trumpeter Jonathan Finlayson, altoist Jon Irabagon, bassist John Herbert, and drummer Ches Smith (Xiu Xiu), released Saturn Sings on Firehouse 12 Records. On “Sea Seizure (No. 19),” the horns disappear and Halvorson’s guitar slips between DJ Screw-like slurs, darting ephemeralities and overdriven chords, conversing with Herbert’s dense bass groove and Smith’s textural percussive splatters.

• Mary Halvorson: http://maryhalvorson.com
• Firehouse 12: http://firehouse12.com

Chocolate Grinder

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we’ll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.

Most Read