♫♪  Chocolate Grinder Mix 38 - “CoolCrazyCoolSexyCoolCoolCool”

I make no secret of the fact that I’m a complete bass addict. Sure, I still get down to Kraftwerk, Bruce Haack, and all that electronic music produced before the subwoofer became standard, but there’s something different about bass. It’s a more visceral experience, fizzing up your beer and pounding your chest into dust. That doesn’t mean bass-heavy music can’t be intelligent, though, and I believe this mix shows you can satisfy the brain and the guts at the same time. You’ll definitely want to keep your eyes on Kanji Kinetic. “New Era” is one of the most massive bangers of 2010, and great things are sure to follow from him if/when he puts out a full-length.

01. Emika - “Drop The Other” (Drop The Other 12”)
Start time: 0:00; Links: Ninja Tune - Emika

02. Daedelus - “An Armada Approaches” (Righteous Fists of Harmony)
Start time: 3:25; Links: Brainfeeder - Daedelus

03. Epstein - “I Can Memorize You” (When Man Is Full He Falls Asleep)
Start time: 9:24; Links: Asthmatic Kitty - Epstein

04. Shlohmo - “Teeth” (Shlohmoshun Deluxe)
Start time: 12:42; Links: FoF Music - Shlohmo

05. Hexstatic - “Gammera” (Gammera 12”)
Start time: 17:32; Links: Ninja Tune - Hexstatic

06. Juice Aleem - “Rock My Hologram (Si Begg’s We Are Future Mix)” (Rock My Hologram single)
Start time: 22:43; Links: Big Dada - Juice Aleem

07. AMP Live - “Mad Men” (Murder At The Discotech)
Start time: 27:31; Links: AMP Live

08. Bird Of Prey - “Pipe Dream feat. Chillax’n” (SubTropic EP)
Start time: 31:10; Links: Cyberset - Bird Of Prey

09. Monster X - “Love Songs and Octopussy” (Werewolf Gangbang)
Start time: 36:56; Links: Tigerbeat6 - Monster X

10. Kanji Kinetic - “New Era” (New Era EP)
Start time: 41:44; Links: Tigerbeat6 - Kanji Kinetic

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]

Chocolate Grinder

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we’ll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.

Most Read