FOR SALE: Tiny Mix Tapes Vol. 1: Darfur 100% of profits to aid victims in the Sudanese region

It’s been over six years since the War in Darfur officially began. The UN states that up to 300,000 lives have already been lost, with an additional 2.7 million driven from their homes. But while figures continue to rise, awareness of the conflict has declined, with no significant improvements in the area either. In fact, the International Criminal Court (ICC) issued an arrest warrant in early March for Sudanese President Omar al-Bashir, which resulted in 13 international relief agencies being kicked out of Darfur. The consequences of this decision have been dire.

So, it is with a sense of urgency that we and 11 of our favorite artists present Tiny Mix Tapes Vol. 1: Darfur. This extremely limited-edition CD/LP compilation features 11 exclusive tracks recorded specifically for the comp and/or tracks that have not been released elsewhere. 100% of the profits will be donated to the International Rescue Committee, an “independent, impartial, and secular aid organization,” who are currently aiding Sudanese refugees in eastern Chad, southern Sudan, and the Central African Republic.

The LP version comes on heavyweight vinyl, housed in a beautiful jacket designed by artist Keith Kawaii, while the unique CD jacket was lovingly crafted by Stumptown Printers, an environmentally responsible Portland-based print shop. The comp was mastered by Carl Saff.

We’re not selling this compilation to make an overt political comment on the situation in Sudan; our aims, like the IRC, are humanitarian in nature. So, hopefully you’ll take as much pleasure in purchasing the comp as you will in listening to it.

Tiny Mix Tapes Vol. 1: Darfur tracklist:

01. Jim O’Rourke - “Seven Stars”
02. Balroynigress - “Dress the Ship in Black”
03. WHY? - “Eskimo Snow (sock hop version)”
04. Frog Eyes - “Bushels (acoustic version)”
05. Burning Star Core - “Incurable Beauty of the Master’s Demise”
06. Xiu Xiu - “Farther On (Traditional)”
07. Mount Eerie - “Calf In Pasture”
08. Wooden Wand - “No Stranger”
09. The Flying Luttenbachers with Henry Kaiser - “Trapped in Ice”
10. nmperign - “Remote Sensing”
11. Dan Deacon - “I Have So Much to Donald”


TMT Vol. 1: Darfur (CD)

TMT Vol. 1: Darfur (LP)

[NOTE: Please ensure the shipping address is correct during checkout, and be sure to choose the correct shipping option if you’re ordering international. Thanks!]

*All prices include shipping costs. CDs will be shipped first-class (with free Delivery Confirmation in the U.S.). Vinyl will be shipped Media Mail in the U.S. and first-class elsewhere. Email if you have any questions.

Most Read