Wale Oyejide Africa Hot! The Afrofuture Sessions

[Shaman Work; 2006]

Rating: 3.5/5

Styles: afrobeat, hip-hop
Others: Quantic, Fela Kuti, Bugz In The Attic, The Eternals

Wale Oyejide's latest offering is about as essential an afrobeat album as I have ever had the privilege of reviewing. Musically, The Afrofuture Sessions are brimming with booty-shaking club anthems, joining growling subbase with up-tempo programmed beats and rich, live instrumentation. While the tunes draw you in, the lyrics often force you to pay attention. "Keep Shining" owns Earth, Wind & Fire's "Shining Star," while the somber AIDS anthem "H.I.V." not only needs to be listened to, but truly heard by every living soul on the planet (he's from Nigeria; he knows how bad the problem is). There has never before been a more accessible and essential recorded warning against this devastating and avoidable affliction. Wale "Science Fiction" Oyejide's hip-hop side appears in the odd track too, proving the producer to be more than just a one-trick pony and providing Africa Hot with a nice change of pace. Quantic fans should be all over this socially responsible album.

1. Jump & Funk feat. Meczilla
2. Africa Hot! feat. Meczilla
3. Afrofuture feat. Meczilla
4. H.I.V.
5. The Hunger Pt. 1
6. One Day, Everything Changed feat. Ta'Raachi (Remix)
7. Keep Shining feat. Lil. Sci
8. Good 2 You feat. Donwill
9. Falling feat. Meczilla
10. Olodumare
11. Cooba (Daz-I-Kue Edit)
12. Lekan Babalola – Oba Awon Oba (Wale Remix)
13. Maybe You & I
14. Mark De Clive Lowe – Heaven (Wale Remix Ver. 2)

Most Read