Tamaryn releasing sophomore album on Mexican Summer; the dream is still alive

Tamaryn releasing sophomore album on Mexican Summer; the dream is still alive

San Francisco-by-way-of-New-Zealand shoegaze lady Tamaryn has joined forces once more with frequent collaborator Rex John Shelverton to create another dazzling LP for Mexican Summer. The duo’s melancholy wall of sound will still totally, in the words of PM Dawn, set you adrift on memory bliss, but this time around you might almost find yourself dancing! Or tapping a toe! Or at least not sitting in your bedroom and staring at the ceiling in the dark and just “feeling it maaaan.” That’s right — the nine new songs on Tamaryn’s new full-length Tender New Signs have a little bit more structure, a little bit more of a — dare I say it — pop beat.

But don’t worry! You still have plenty of time to figure out if that black Wet ‘n’ Wild lipstick you bought in high school still matches your new swooning/shuffling dance steps, because Tender New Signs drops October 16. Fun fact: album artwork was created by friend-of-the-band Shaun Durkan, who just so happens to be the lead singer of fellow San Francisco band Weekend. After three 7-inches and one critically-acclaimed EP, this is the band’s second full-length. You can peep the lead single for the album below:

Tender New Signs tracklisting:

01. I’m Gone
02. While You’re Sleeping, I’m Dreaming
03. Heavenly Bodies
04. No Exits
05. Prizma
06. The Garden
07. Transcendent Blue
08. Afterlight
09. Violet’s in a Pool

• Tamaryn: http://tamarynmusic.com
• Mexican Summer: http://www.mexicansummer.com

Most Read