Alex Zhang Hungtai announces new album Divine Weight on NON, shares video for “Pierrot”

Alex Zhang Hungtai announces new album Divine Weight on NON, shares video for "Pierrot"

What was that age-old meme about the greatest crossover events in history, again? I certainly can’t remember it now, but I so dearly wish I could, because it’s never been more appropriate than this shining moment in underground music history in which powerhouse Alex Zhang Hungtai (formerly Dirty Beaches) has announced a new album called Divine Weight via the equally powerhouse-like NON Worldwide. It’s out June 29.

The new album has been rescued from “failed” saxophone compositions from the last three years, according to sources with knowledge of the situation (a.k.a. the press release). “From there it became the actual stem tracks that were heavily digitally disfigured until it no longer resembled the sound of saxophones. Like dreams, visions often come to us without us having the capability to measure or understand fully what they mean.” So when you listen to these ambient pieces, just think about how “Yakety Sax” really isn’t that far removed from them.

While you wait patiently for the defining summer team-up of the year, you can always check out the full Divine Weight tracklisting and watch the video for opener “Pierrot” down below. If you’re a pre-order-oriented person, hit up NON’s Bandcamp page.

Now get those reeds wet and fingers loose for June! (Yeah, I know; gross.)

Divine Weight tracklisting:

01. Pierrot
02. Matrimony
03. This Is Not My Country
04. Yaumatei
05. Divine Weight

Most Read