Analog Africa announces African Scream Contest 2 compilation (prep your eardrums accordingly)

Analog Africa announces African Scream Contest 2 compilation (prep your eardrums accordingly)
Les Sympathics de Porto Novo, one of over a dozen groups featured on Analog Africa's newest gut-buster.

It’s been ten years since the release of the first African Scream Contest. And Analog Africa purveyor Samy Ben Redjeb has come a long way since his initial trip to the West African nation of Benin in 2005, which reportedly commenced without a goal more specific than laying “my hands on a few good records.” That trip turned out to contain a treasure trove filled with funky medallions instead of actual doubloons (though doubloons would’ve been nice); and now, Analog Africa has gone from three records under its label belt, to more than 50, many of which are compilations that basically serve as showcases of the spoils of Redjeb’s regular scavenger hunts. Redjeb has even tasked Lokonon André, a member of this Afrobeat band who has literal KGB training, with going out and finding artists for the sake of giving them rundowns on licensing. It all sounds very exhausting and not threatening at all. Analog Africa is basically doing a public service here!

Thus, giving the people what they’ve unconsciously been clamoring for, African Scream Contest 2 is scheduled for release June 1. Chances are you’ve heard variations of the music therein through the media grapevine or through the first compilation, and this sounds like another album dedicated to the groovy sounds that have been somewhat overshadowed by the musical contributions of neighboring Nigeria. Artists featured on African Scream Contest 2 include the aforementioned Lokonon André, Antoine Dougbé, Super Borgou de Parakou, Gnonnas Pedro and His Dadjes Band, and Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou, among others.

Offer your surroundings a James Brown-worthy, “HEY!” as you go ahead and pre-order the whole thing here and listen to the track “A Min We Vo Nou We” from Les Sympathics below.

African Scream Contest 2 tracklisting:

01. Les Sympathics de Porto Novo - A Min We Vo Nou We
02. Ignace de Souza & The Melody Aces - Asaw Fofor
03. Stanislas Tohon - Dja Dja Dja
04. Elias Akadiri & Sunny Black ́s Band - L ́enfance
05. Picoby Band D ́Abomey - Mé Adomina
06. Antoine Dougbé - Nounignon Ma Klon Midji
07. Orch. Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou - Moulon Devia
08. Black Santiago - Paulina
09. Lokonon André et Les Volcans - Glenon Ho Akue
10. Sebastien Pynasco and L ́Orchestre Black Santiago - Sadé
11. Super Borgou de Parakou - Baba L ́Oke Ba ́Wagbe
12. Cornaire Salifou Michel et L ́Orchestre El Rego & ses Commandos - Gangnidodo
13. Gnonnas Pedro and His Dadjes Band - How Much Love Naturally Cost
14. Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou - Idavi

Most Read