Angel-Ho signs to Hyperdub, announces new album Death Becomes Her

Angel-Ho signs to Hyperdub, announces new album Death Becomes Her
Photo: Jody Brand

Damn. It’s still December 2018, and it’s already official: 2019 is the YEAR OF MIXIN’ SHIT UP. And Cape-town producer, DJ, singer, and NON Worldwide co-founder Angel-Ho is here to get the curve-ball rolling by announcing her “proper” debut album…NOT for the stellar label she helped shepherd into the world, but on the equally-stellar Hyperdub organization instead!

Don’t worry, though, the curves keep coming:

Death Becomes Her is out March 1, and it reportedly siphons some serious inspiration “from her flamboyant favorites from Lady Gaga, Missy Elliot, Bjork through to Kanye West” in a fevered quest to create the ultimate neo-pop smorgasbord. The album features a ton of high-caliber collaborators, including “French producer Nunu, South African producer Baby Caramel, Asmara Maroof from Nguzunguzu, Bon, and Gaika” across 14 tracks intended to showcase the artist’s “emancipation and trans identity.” In fact, she goes so far as to describe the album’s title and general lyrical thrust as her way of “killing the old self and expressing a poetic way of assuming a new identity,” “assuming rather than transforming because transformation feels as if something is being left behind, when in fact my identity is in assuming my trans goddess.”

By way of proper introduction into Angel’s brave new world, check out the album’s first taste “Like A Girl feat K Rizz” (and Produced by Asmara) down below. Then, after you’ve properly rinse-out your brain and all of it’s bullshit “expectations” with this exuberantly tricked-out MEGA-JAM, head here to pre-order Death Becomes Her in its entirety (that way, you’ll already be way ahead that curve-y AF 2019 CURVE).

Death Becomes Her tracklisting:

01. Business
02. Drama
03. Like A Girl feat K Rizz
04. Jacomina
05. Muse To You
06. Good Friday Daddy feat Queezy
07. Cupido
08. Live
09. Destify
10. Pose
11. Bussy
12. Baby Tee feat K-$
13. Like That.mp3
14. Parachute

Most Read