Bibio declares love for everything with forthcoming new album A Mineral Love

Bibio declares love for everything with forthcoming new album A Mineral Love

You know when you really had deep feelings for that boy/girl last century and the single greatest way to express those feelings was to compile a mixtape of the music you’re equally enamored with and present that tape as a gift to the object of your affections? Well, British multi-instrumentalist Bibio has basically done just that, but he’s in love with everyone — even you, precious flower — and instead of compiling other people’s songs, he’s created a kaleidoscope of different musical styles and then mixed them into an album that sounds awfully like a mixtape.

The album is called A Mineral Love and will be released April 1 on Warp. It features cameos from Wax Stag, Oliver St. Louis, and fellow screwed and woozy pop maestro Gotye. Bibio describes it as “not a purist record, it is not trying to authentically recreate a specific time or genre but rather use familiar forms as a common language to communicate new ideas and new messages. I want to sing about struggle and tragedy with warmth, sympathy and respect. I want sadness to have bittersweet hope.”

Because Bibio’s all about sharing the love, you can check out two tracks from A Mineral Love now, “Petals” and “Feeling.”

A Mineral Love tracklist:

01. Petals
02. A Mineral Love
03. Raxeira
04. Town & Country
05. Feeling
06. The Way You Talk (Featuring Gotye)
07. With The Thought Of Us
08. Why So Serious? (Featuring Olivier St. Louis)
09. C’est La Vie
10. Wren Tails
11. Gasoline & Mirrors (Featuring Wax Stag)
12. Saint Thomas
13. Light Up The Sky

Most Read