Bitchin Bajas and Natural Information Society plan collaborative LP on Drag City

Bitchin Bajas and Natural Information Society plan collaborative LP on Drag City

Hi! Is your baja feeling limpid, lackluster, and insufficiently blasted lately? How about your information? Feeling man-made and stodgy? Of course they are! We’re all living in 2015, and our earth is choked and dying on chemicals. Do not fret, however, for the lovely folks at Drag City will arrive with an antidote come August 28 in the form of the debut collaboration between Bitchin Bajas and Natural Information Society. It’s called Automaginary, and it’s literally magic!

It’s not literally magic — just kidding. It is, however, a collaborative album between the two Chicago-based groups, and that’s pretty cool. This is especially so given the sort of cosmic overlap between them, both of which grew out of solo endeavors back around 2010 (Bitchin Baja’s from Cooper Crain of CAVE, and Natural Information Society from Joshua Abrams). And both, in their own ways, drive at a sort of suspension of musical consciousness, looping, charging, and piling sounds, such as on Abrams’s Represcencing from 2013 and Bitchin Bajas’ self-titled from last year. Automaginary pops up as “a multitude of influences swam amoebically,” pulling in kraut grooves, disco, jazz, and beyond.

Pre-order the album here.

Autoimaginary tracklist:

01. Anemometer
02. Tricks Me My Mind
03. Sign Spinners
04. Automaginary
05. On No Fade

• Bitchin Bajas:
• Natural Information Society:
• Drag City:

Most Read