Boards of Canada announce new album Tomorrow’s Harvest; my exclamation point key is now broken

Boards of Canada announce new album Tomorrow's Harvest; my exclamation point key is now broken

Remember this day. Do not forget it. In like 40-60 years (depending upon your current age and the speed with which medical technology advances) when you’re hanging out at a nursing home and your spoiled rotten asshole grandchildren come to visit they are definitely going to ask “Where were you when the clouds parted and the sound of trumpets filled the air and Boards of Canada announced their first album since The Campfire Headphase (TMT Review)?”

For what it’s worth, I was about to hop in the shower (I still had my shorts on if you want a visual) when I heard that (un)holy blasting of trumpets that at first I thought was my neighbor mowing his lawn with like 10 mowers at once (would not put it past the guy). Then I realized it was those ethereal trumpets and I looked outside and saw the clouds parting and everything. Because I voraciously read those Left Behind books when I was a kid, I was all like, “Oh shit, it’s the rapture, Jesus please save me!” but then I remembered that if it was the rapture Jesus was definitely not going to save me because I had already been Left Behind and no amount of Kirk Cameroning was going to keep me out of the cold hands of the antichrist.

Anyway! The new Boards of Canada album is called Tomorrow’s Harvest and it’s out June 11 in North America via Warp Records (one day earlier in the UK). The announcement comes after a whole slew of mysterious activities from BoC, including a Cartoon Network commercial, some hidden online streams, and those cryptic singles that were like something straight out of an episode of Lost if Lost was actually good and about music. Also! As it turns out, if you combine the numbers from those singles into one series (i.e. ‘699742628315717228936557813386519225’), they make a password that Google refers to as “Very Strong” (Boards of Canada are nothing if not invested in their online security) and that will let you watch a video that’s basically just static here. In the interest of not letting down your future grandchildren and permanently jading them, I’d recommend pre-ordering the album right now from the Bleep webstore.

Tomorrow’s Harvest tracklist:

01. Gemini
02. Reach For The Dead
03. White Cyclosa
04. Jacquard Causeway
05. Telepath
06. Cold Earth
07. Transmisiones Ferox
08. Sick Times
09. Collapse
10. Palace Posy
11. Split Your Infinities
12. Uritual
13. Nothing Is Real
14. Sundown
15. New Seeds
16. Come To Dust
17. Semena Mertvykh

• Boards of Canada:
• Warp:

Most Read