Cass McCombs to release comp of “Rarities, B-Sides & Space Junk” this December to help you soundtrack your enduring “Sad Bastard Christmas” tradition!

Cass McCombs to release comp of "Rarities, B-Sides & Space Junk" this December to help you soundtrack your enduring "Sad Bastard Christmas" tradition!

While he waits patiently for his picture to appear alongside the official Webster’s Dictionary entry for the word “wry,” singer/songwriter/drifter/grifter Cass McCombs has to do something or other to keep busy. And — great news for us — come this December 11, he’ll continue to attempt to fill those interminable, soul-sucking gaps by releasing a new album on the Domino label!

It’s called A Folk Set Apart and is appended with the (dare I say “wry?”) subtitle: “Rarities, B-Sides & Space Junk, Etc.” Consisting of rare and extra material spanning from 2003-2014 (much of which was only ever released via “split 7"s, only sold at shows”), the accompanying press release assures us that McCombs’s boredom is our boon, as this album comprises nothing less than an “alternate retelling of the last decade in the life of extraordinary songwriter Cass McCombs.” !!!

Seriously, though, what it ACTUALLY comprises is 19 songs (well, 19 on the CD version, and 11 songs + 8 digital bonus tracks on the LP version), all of which have been given a good shower, shave, and remaster for this release. And because I know you’re wondering: yup, five of the tracks are previously unreleased, and the LP is “a single vinyl in a gatefold jacket, which includes a printed inner sleeve and an MP3 download card.” Pretty slick, Cass; pretty slick.

But wait — there’s more! McCombs will also be filling some time in his days by playing LIVE SHOWS in the upcoming weeks, any/all of which you are welcome to attend and buy alcohol at, if you’re thusly inclined monetarily. Oh, and speaking of the M-word, you can also pre-order the thing right now, either “the easy way” via iTunes or “the cool way” via Domino.

But hey, if “having money” isn’t your “thing” right now, that’s cool too. You can also check out McComb’s cover of the Meat Puppets tune “Evangeline” down below without spending a dime. Although it’ll take a few minutes of your time, I suppose; and time is money too, ya know. Just ask Cass McCombs.

A Folk Set Apart tracklisting:

01. I Cannot Lie
02. A.Y.D.
03. Oatmeal
04. Twins
05. Minimum Wage
06. Poet’s Day
07. An Other
08. Bradley Manning
09. Evangeline
10. Empty Promises
11. If You Loved Me Before…
12. Three Men Sitting On A Hollow Log
13. Lost River / Old River
14. Old As Angry
15. Texas
16. Night Of The World
17. Traffic Of Souls
18. Catacombs Cow Cow Boogie
19. The State Will Take Care Of Me

Upcoming Cass McCombs dates:

10.14.15 - Los Angeles, CA - The Fonda Theatre*
10.15.15 - San Francisco, CA - Slim’s*
10.16.15 - San Francisco, CA - Fillmore*
10.17.15 - Portland, OR - Crystal Ballroom*
10.18.15 - Seattle, WA - The Showbox*
11.06-11.08.15 - Austin, TX - Fun Fun Fun Fest @ Auditorium Shores
11.27.15 - New York, NY - Beacon Theatre#

* Kurt Vile
# My Morning Jacket

• Cass McCombs:
• Domino:

Most Read