Cheatahs’ debut album claws its way into North America on February 5

Cheatahs' debut album claws its way into North America on February 5

London’s Cheatahs are a throwback to an alternate-dream-90s where Dinosaur Jr. mated with fuzzed-out country rock and made beautiful English children. Who were born with guitars strapped to their infant chests. And where no one ever wore cargo pants. And where the ABC family sitcom Dinosaurs was, in retrospect, actually funny. Yes, Cheatahs have been winning grungy hearts across the pond with the two EPs they released earlier in the year, Coared and SANS, and now Wichita Recordings has compiled those two releases into one eight-track LP called Extended Plays. The irony! Those English! Isn’t the English version of The Office so much better than the American one blah blah blah droll humour Downton Abbey?

Anyway, Extended Plays hits US shores on February 5, and there’s a nifty new video for the lead track, “The Swan,” that you can check out below. Coinciding with said album release, Cheatahs will be voyaging to North America for a quick March 2013 East Coast tour with similarly-buzzed-about bands Veronica Falls and Cold Showers. The tour kicks off at Washington, DC’s famed Black Cat and wraps at Toronto’s The Garrison.

Extended Plays tracklisting:

01. The Swan
02. SANS
03. Fountain Park
04. Flake
05. Coared
06. Ripper
07. Jacobi
08. Froshed


03.06.13 - Washington DC - Black Cat
03.07.13 - Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda’s
03.08.13 - New York City, NY - Bowery Ballroom
03.09.13 - Boston, MA - Great Scott
03.10.13 - Montreal, QC - la divan orange
03.12.13 - Toronto, ON - The Garrison

• Cheatahs:
• Wichita:

[Photo: Robin Christian]

Most Read