clipping. release digital EP Wriggle, new album in the fall via Sub Pop/Deathbomb Arc

clipping. release digital EP Wriggle, new album in the fall via Sub Pop/Deathbomb Arc
Photo: Suzy Poling

Did you hear that? It’s the sound of ME telling ALL YOU that L.A.-based avant-hip-hop trio known as clipping. — composed of rapper Daveed Digs (who incidentally totally for-real won a Tony Award for “Best Featured Actor in a Musical” (for his roles as the Marquis de Lafayette and Thomas Jefferson in the musical Hamilton) and producers William Huston and Jonathan Snipes — has gone and released a brand new EP today on the Kurt Cobain-run Sub Pop label. (Ha. Just kidding. He doesn’t run it. He just owns it.)

FOR REAL though. The new clipping. EP is called Wriggle, and it features six tracks “that weren’t finished in time to make it onto CLPPNG” with guest spots from Antwon, Signor Benedick the Moor, Cakes Da Killa, and more. It also features (on the track “Shooter”) these boys “firing fifteen different guns, the sounds of which exclusively constitute the beat’s drums, augmented only by a synthesized tone-row.”

The EP precedes clipping.’s next full-length, which is slated for the fall via both Sub Pop and Deathbomb Arc.

Relatedly, Deathbomb Arc just revealed an album called soft rules by rap group True Neutral Crew, which features Signor Benedick The Moor, Margot Padilla, and Brian Kinsman (ex-Foot Village, ex-Gang Wizard, artist/writer), as well as a slew of guests, including one Daveed Diggs. It’s their debut and will be out July 29. Pre-order it here.

Damn, if only there was some way for us to sample all this music for free before we decide to purchase that shit!!! (Ha. Just kidding. It’s 2016; stream the whole EP below, followed by a teaser for the True Neutral Crew release.)


Wriggle EP tracklisting:

01 Intro
02 Shooter
03 Back Up [ft. Antwon and Signor Benedick the Moor]
04 Wriggle
05 Hot Fuck No Love [ft. Cakes Da Killa and Maxi Wild]
06 Our Time [ft. Nailah Middleton]

Most Read