Daughn Gibson returns with new party rockin’ album Carnation

Daughn Gibson returns with new party rockin' album Carnation

Daughn Gibson, the vaguely threatening sexyhot goth ghost of Roy Orbison, is back, and this time he’s bringing the party jams! No more wallowing with your fancy small-batch whiskey in a lonely graveyard whispering the name of your long-lost lover while Daughn’s honeyed voice wafts from your victrola. No! This time you might find your toes tapping… but you know, still in a very indie, non-Skrillex way.

Don’t believe me? Check out new track “Shatter You Through” below (via Sterogum). It’s the lead single off the dapper Pennsylvanian’s second LP for Sub Pop, Carnation, which drops June 2. Co-produced by Gibson himself along with Randall Dunn (Earth, sunn O))), Tim Hecker), the album was recorded in Seattle at Avast Studios and features the talents of Eyvind Kang (string arrangements), Matt Chamberlain (drums), Jim Elkington (guitar), Steve Moore (piano/trombone/keyboards/synths), Milky Burgess, Paul Wegman, Jer Rouse (guitars, all three of ‘em), Skerik (saxophone), and Jay Kardong (pedal steel).

Carnation tracklisting:

01. Bled to Death
02. Heaven You Better Come In
03. Shatter You Through
04. For Every Bite
05. Daddy I Cut My Hair
06. A Rope Ain’t Enough
07. I Let Him Deal
08. Shine of the Night
09. Runaway and the Pyro
10. It Wants Everything
11. Back With the Family

• Daughn Gibson: https://www.facebook.com/daughngibson
• Sub Pop: https://www.subpop.com

Most Read