David Toop announces first new album in 10 years, Entities Inertias Faint Beings, debuts short film

David Toop announces first new album in 10 years, Entities Inertias Faint Beings, debuts short film
Photo: Fabio Lugaro

I hope you’re not doing anything too frivolous with your time right now, because here comes some serious shit that doesn’t just PLOP into your feed every single day. TMT has the pleasure of announcing that David Toop, renowned British musician/composer, author, teacher, erstwhile Flying Lizard, and curator of all-things-art-and-awesome, is releasing his first new solo album in almost a decade.

In case you’re not up to speed, let’s get you there quick: First making a splash (kinda literally) back in the 70s when he contributed some blissfully watery pieces to the Brian Eno-curated Obscure No. 4: New and Rediscovered Musical Instruments, Toop basically, kinda, sorta just casually went on to help define hip-hop in the 80s (with his book Rap Attack) and ambient and drone in the 90s (in Ocean of Sound), among other insanely incredible releases, before dropping six solo albums of genre-curious experimentation since 1995.

Okay, is your jaw back up off the floor? Right. Good. So, yeah. This is incredible news.

Now then: Toop’s newest album, titled Entities Inertias Faint Beings, is due June 24 via Room40 on the fine formats of LP and digital, and according to the legend himself, it consists of “spores maybe” or “clusters of digital files” that existed already but required several intense “periods of solitude” involving (among tons of other otherworldly things, I’m sure) the reception of late-night hypnagogic images on aboriginal mountaintops and hours spent “gazing into ocean flux” for said-spores to begin their process of germination.

Intrigued/confused/beguiled yet? Luckily for you, you can watch this short trailer video for Toop’s broody-yet-fecund new venture down below as many times as you like, while you pre-order the album. Just don’t expect to be any less intrigued/confused/beguiled no matter how many times you see it. We ARE talkin’ about Toop here, after all.

Entities Inertias Faint Beings tracklisting:

01. Dry Keys Echo In The Dark And Humid Early Hours
02. For A Language To Come
03. Pieces of Wood and Iron, Phials Of Odours
04. Sea Slug
05. Unspeakable Within It
06. Compelled To Approach
07. Ancenstral Beings, Sightless By Their Own Dust
08. Setting Stones
09. Human Skin And The Stone Steps
10. Things Just Went Sour Gradually All At Once
11. Invertebrate Drawings

Most Read