Deerhoof announce new album La Isla Bonita, and all is right in the world again

Deerhoof announce new album La Isla Bonita, and all is right in the world again

Deerhoof — the greatest and most underrated band of our time, in my estimation — is usually pretty quick when putting out one of their bizarro rock records. Now the Runners Four are back with their 12th album, La Isla Bonita, which was produced by former Pitchfork writer and Godmode label founder Nick Sylvester and follows up 2012’s Breakup Song.

According to drummer virtuoso Greg Saunier, “This is the latest volley in an ongoing conversation we’ve been honored to hold for 20 years.” 20 years?! Most marriages don’t last that long, but founding members Saunier and Satomi Matsuzaki have stuck it out, with a few lineup changes along the journey. Allegedly, the new album will pay tribute to David Bowie, Lou Reed, David Byrne, Sonic Youth, Radiohead, the Flaming Lips, Beck, and other music luminaries. Unsurprisingly, Deerhunter was not included in the list. Until La Isla Bonita drops on November 4 via Polyvinyl, enjoy the garage outbursts of lead single “Exit Only” below, along with the full tracklist.

La Isla Bonita tracklist:

01. Paradise Girls
02. Mirror Monster
03. Doom
04. Last Fad
05. Tiny Bubbles
06. Exit Only
07. Big House Waltz
08. God 2
09. Black Pitch
10. Oh Bummer

• Deerhoof:
• Polyvinyl:

[Photo: Chad Kamenshine]

Most Read