Dischord to resurrect Lungfish’s A.C.R. LP whether you want them to or not

Dischord to resurrect Lungfish's A.C.R. LP whether you want them to or not

Lungfish may be a permanent fixture on the Dischord defunct list (their last LP under the Lungfish moniker was 2005’s intriguing Feral Hymns) but they garnered enough attention and acclaim (lead vocalist Daniel Higgs is still a thundering force of nature) during their two decade plus career as a band to warrant an upcoming re-release of an LP that never was. 1999’s A.C.R. was recorded with current(ly defunct) members Higgs, Nathan Bell, Michael Feldstein, and Asa Osborne. The original recording sessions were recorded and mixed in Baltimore with Craig Bowen (Growing, Oranges Band, Slow Jets) but never officially released. The band nixed the sessions soon after recording was done and tackled what would later become 2000’s Necrophones. Six of the 10 songs on A.C.R. were re-recorded and re-released for Necrophones but the other four are now available for the very first time.

It may not be a totally essential re-release and may amount to a stray fart on the subway, when all you’re really trying to do is finish the last chapter of that new Rachel Maddow book so you can feel a real sense of accomplishment and brag to your friends about how she writes like she talks and boy, wasn’t she just super on Fresh Air last week… but Lungfish completists should be pleased. A.C.R. 1999 is due May 14.

A.C.R. 1999 tracklist:

01. Eternal Nightfall (version)
02. Symbiosis
03. Screams Of Joy
04. Occult Vibrations (version)
05. I Will Walk Between You
06. Aesop
07. Sex War (version)
08. Infinite Daybreak (version)
09. Hanging Bird (version)
10. Shapes in Space (version)

• Lungfish: http://www.dischord.com/band/lungfish
• Dischord: http://www.dischord.com

Most Read