FKA twigs returns with new album MAGDALENE, out next month on Young Turks

FKA twigs returns with new album MAGDALENE, out next month on Young Turks

As Bob Dylan would probably say if he were alive today, “the times, they are a-changin” “it’s been a minute” since FKA twigs hit us with “Cellophane,” her first new song since 2016, and the first hint of new “major” work nearing completion since 2015’s M3LL155X EP.

But now, at long last, the time has come: the consummate singer/dancer/artist/human is officially all-the-way-back with the announcement of MAGDALENE, her first proper album in four years, out October 25 via Young Turks.

But the interim has by no means been easy-going and kind on twigs. Per the album’s press release:

In 2017 the one born Tahliah Barnett split from fiancé Robert Pattinson, and later that year the singer underwent surgery to remove tumours from her uterus. Barnett channels these traumas to emerge, bruised yet defiant, with her second studio LP MAGDALENE.

As you can imagine, those turbulent times are emphatically and defiantly manifest-as-fuck in the resultant recordings’ “almost exhausted” and “intentionally washed-out” arrangements, beats, and impressionistic song structures.

Pre-order the resultant nine-track album — which also features the likes of Skrillex, Oneohtrix Point Never, Future, and Nicolas Jaar — right here. Then, while you’re waiting, reacquaint yourself with its hair-raising first-taste “Cellophane,” followed by an equally stirring live rendition, down below:

MAGALENE tracklisting:

01. thousand eyes
02. home with you
03. sad day
04. holy terrain
05. mary magdalene
06. fallen alien
07. mirrored heart
08. daybed
09. cellophane

Most Read