Re-release The Bats! Flying Nun and Captured Tracks team up to reissue more sweet sweet The Bats vinyl

Re-release The Bats! Flying Nun and Captured Tracks team up to reissue more sweet sweet The Bats vinyl

Is there anything better than the feeling of slapping down some crisp American dollars to purchase reissue vinyl? Ahh the weightiness of it. The ridiculous amount of tracks. The musical legacy. The liner notes written by influential music critics and people you have to Google because you don’t already know who they are THAT’S HOW COOL THEY ARE. Well, Flying Nun is partnering with Captured Tracks once again to put that fine reissue vinyl back into your hands.

Come May 27, you too can be the proud owner of The Bats’ Daddy’s Highway, The Law of Things and Compiletely Bats, a collection of early EPs/singles, all on sweet sweet reissued vinyl. These albums will also be available as a 3CD comp called The Bats: Vol. 1. The seminal New Zealand band was formed in 1982 and features Bob Scott (The Clean), Paul Keane (Toy Love), Kaye Woodward, and Malcolm Grant. Have a listen to a demo version of “Block of Wood” and an outtake from The Law of Things below, and then peep the many tracklists.

Daddy’s Highway tracklist:

01. Block of Wood
02. Miss These Things
03. Mid City Team
04. Some Peace Tonight
05. Had to Be You
06. Daddy’s Highway
07. Treason
08. Sir Queen
09. Round and Down
10. Take It
11. North By North
12. Tragedy

The Law of Things tracklist:

01. Other Side of You
02. Law of Things
03. Never Said Goodbye
04. Time to Get Ready
05. Ten to One
06. Mastery
07. I Fall Away
08. Cliff Edge
09. Nine Days
10. Bedlam
11. Smoking Her Wings

Bonus 12-inch tracklist:

01. North by North (re-mix)
02. Straight through My Heart
03. Get Fat
04. Best Friends Brain
05. Downfall (Law of Things Outtake)
06. Passed By (Law of Things Outtake)
07. Check Check (Law of Things Outtake)
08. Is That All I Get for My Heart (Law of Things Outtake)

Compiletely Bats tracklist:

01. Made Up in Blue
02. Neighbours
03. Chicken Bird Run
04. Jewellers Heart
05. I Go Wild
06. Blindfold
07. Mad on You
08. By Night
09. Earwig
10. Claudine
11. United Airways
12. Man in the Moon
13. Trouble in This Town
14. Joes Again
15. Offside

Bonus 12-inch tracklist:

01. My Way
02. Calm Before the Storm
03. Candidate
04. Block of Wood (Demo 1)
05. Block of Wood (Demo 2)
06. Daddy’s Highway (Drum Machine Version)

• The Bats:
• Flying Nun:
• Captured Tracks:

Most Read