Fucked Up move to Merge Records for new album Dose Your Dreams

Fucked Up move to Merge Records for new album Dose Your Dreams
Photo: John Londono

Listen up! Cuz i’m only gonna say this once. The perpetually yelling Canadian hardcore punk studio rats in Fucked Up have a new album coming out on a new label — the benevolent North Carolina indie deity Merge.

The album’s called Dose Your Dreams. It’s out October 5, and its announcement brings with it the lyric video for the album’s first single, “Raise Your Voice Joyce,” which possesses a very funny title for a Fucked Up song. You can watch said lyric video below.

Dose Your Dreams is Fucked Up’s first album since 2014’s Glass Boys. The news of its impending release comes with a message from Fucked Up’s string arranger of choice, Owen Pallett, who explains that the album, in contrast to Glass Boys’ concision, is Fucked Up’s second ginormous 18-track inscrutable concept record, after 2011’s David Comes to Life, which garnered the group immense acclaim and is in fact their second best album overall.

Pallett’s message also explains that Dose Your Dreams is a sort-of sequel to David Comes to Life that finds David “indentured to a desk job,” sometime after whatever went down during that record’s runtime. (I do not listen to punk rock operas for plot, folks.) David is later shaken from his Office Space-like existence by an elderly woman named Joyce who sends him “on a spiritual journey.”

To get yourself better acclimated to the whole plot, watch/listen-to/read-carefully the “Raise Your Voice Joyce” lyric video, and head over to Merge to pre-dose those dreams of yours now.

Dose Your Dreams tracklisting:

01. None of Your Business Man
02. Raise Your Voice Joyce
03. Tell Me What You See
04. Normal People
05. Torch to Light
06. Talking Pictures
07. House of Keys
08. Dose Your Dreams
09. Living in a Simulation
10. I Don’t Wanna Live in This World Anymore
11. How to Die Happy
12. Two I’s Closed
13. The One I Want Will Come for Me
14. Mechanical Bull
15. Accelerate
16. Came Down Wrong
17. Love Is an Island in the Sea
18. Joy Stops Time

Most Read