Grouper returns with new album Grid Of Points; listen to first single “Parking Lots”

Grouper returns with new album Grid Of Points; listen to first single "Parking Lots"
Photo: Tanja Engelberts

If there’s only one sound that can pierce the pain, confusion, and distortion of this world, it’s the voice of Liz Harris. We’re tremendously happy to announce that her voice will return on Grid Of Points, her new album as Grouper coming April 27 to Kranky.

Continuing with the stylistic tryptic of voice, piano, and silence that she used on 2014’s Ruins (#2 on our 2014 favorites list), Harris’s new 8-track album pulls an afflictive essence from her sparse arrangements. From Harris:

Grid Of Points is a set of songs for piano and voice. I wrote these songs over a week and a half; they stopped abruptly when I was interrupted by a high fever. Though brief, it is complete. The intimacy and abbreviation of this music allude to an essence that the songs lyrics speak more directly of. The space left after matter has departed, a stage after the characters have gone, the hollow of some central column, missing.

Get a hefty sip of that essence below from the album’s first single, “Parking Lot,” and pre-order Grid Of Points now. It hits shelves and streaming services April 27 via Kranky.

Thank you, Liz. Thank you.

Grid Of Points tracklisting:

01. The Races
02. Parking Lot
03. Driving
04. Thanksgiving Song
05. Birthday Song
06. Blouse
07. Breathing
08. Coal Train

Most Read