Guided by Voices announce new album Let’s Go Eat the Factory! Have two spoonfuls of nostalgia and awesomeness!

Guided by Voices announce new album Let's Go Eat the Factory! Have two spoonfuls of nostalgia and awesomeness!

Original fans of Guided by Voices are probably mostly male and in their 40s by now, but hold on to your skirts, fellas, because you’re about to jump up and down like little school girls. After reuniting to tour with their “classic” lineup last year, GBV just announced that they will release a new album called Let’s Go Eat the Factory on January 1, 2012. This will be the “classic” lineup’s first studio recording since 1996’s Under the Bushes, Under the Stars, or if you’re not too technical about it, the band’s first album since 2004’s Half Smiles of the Decomposed (TMT Review).

GBV just wrapped up a year-long reunion tour that started last October at the Matador Records 21st Anniversary celebration in Las Vegas. The line-up, originally together from 1993-1996, includes front man Robert Pollard (the group’s only constant), Tobin Sprout, Greg Demos, Mitch Mitchell and Kevin Fennel. Pollard first talked about the possibility of new album last December in an interview with Spinner: “I’ve thought about it sometimes but it’s a very long shot. We all kind of do our own thing. I’m not completely eliminating the possibility…” And aren’t we glad he didn’t!

Let’s Go Eat the Factory tracklisting:

01. Laundry and Lasers
02. The Head
03. Doughnut for a Snowman
04. Spiderfighter
05. Hang Mr. Kite
06. God Loves Us
07. The Unsinkable Fats Domino
08. Who Invented the Sun
09. The Big Hat and Toy Show
10. Imperial Racehorsing
11. How I Met My Mother
12. Waves
13. My Europa
14. Chocolate Boy
15. The Things That Never Need
16. Either Nelson
17. Cyclone Utilities (Remember Your Birthday)
18. Old Bones
19. Go Rolling Home
20. The Room Taking Shape
21. We Won’t Apologize for the Human Race

• Guided by Voices:
• Matador:

Most Read