Horse Lords release benefit remix EP featuring Matmos, Greg Fox, and more; drop new video for “Macaw”

Horse Lords release benefit remix EP featuring Matmos, Greg Fox, and more; drop new video for "Macaw"

Horse Lords have just released a new EP featuring remixes of tracks off their excellent 2014 album, Hidden Cities — and it’s all in the name of charity! Proceeds from Hidden Cities Remix will go to Believe in Music, a project from Baltimore-based nonprofit Living Classrooms that was created to “uplift underprivileged Baltimore City students academically, culturally, and spiritually, while promoting self-expression and community awareness through music education.”

The EP features remixes by Drew Daniel and MC Schmidt of Matmos, engineer/producer/multi-instrumentalist Jason Willett, Greg Fox (GDFX, Liturgy, ZS), 25-year music veteran Wobbly, and avant-noise-maker Jason Urick (formerly of Wzt Hearts).

Accompanying this great news is their video-by-committee for “Macaw,” one of Hidden Lands’s longer, more consuming tracks. Directors include (in order of appearance) Mary Helena Clark, Greg St. Pierre, Duncan Moore, Andrew Bernstein, Margaret Rorison, James Thomas Marsh, Andrew Bernstein, Max Eilbacher, and M.C. Schmidt. Each director gets roughly a minute of time, with all of it stitched together by Andrew Bernstein (non-Ayn Rand disciple). Watch the video here:

For a good contrast, also check out the remix EP’s single, which is the same song but remixed by Drew Daniel.

You can still cop Hidden Cities from NNA Tapes, so you know, go cop Hidden Cities from NNA Tapes. And be sure to also show support for the remix EP (and Believe in Music) here.

Hidden Cities Remix tracklist:

01. Macaw (Drew Daniel Remix)
02. Horsey (Jason Urick Remix)
03. Pioneer Tracking (Wobbly Remix)
04. Outer East / Anchor Song / Tent City (M.C. Schmidt Remix)
05. Macaw / All That Is Solid (Jason Willett Remix)
06. LANDR-Fox Lords (GDFX Remix)
07. Outer East (M.C. Schmidt Remix)

• Horse Lords:
• NNA Tapes:

Most Read