Jameszoo announces debut of naive computer jazz on Brainfeeder

Jameszoo announces debut of naive computer jazz on Brainfeeder

There is, perhaps, no higher form of endorsement in the world of avant-garde music than if it is beloved by cats. In this regard, Jameszoo’s debut LP Fool is a certified banger. Perhaps it’s the sample at the beginning of the track “Flake” that sounds like tiny mice offering themselves up for the slaughter (a sound I am pretty sure my cats have never heard IRL), but let me tell you, Wiz and Blix were ABOUT THIS ISH. And they (and you!) can be even more about it on May 13 when Brainfeeder releases this thing.

The project of Dutch producer/musician Mitchel van Dinther, Jameszoo is like a hybrid of that jazz/hip-hop/experimental/dance music sound we’ve all come to know and love here in the Year of Our Lord 2016. Dude’s released a few well-received EPs and remixes already, but this is his first full-length, a work he describes as “naive computer jazz.” While recording the album, Van Dinther got all into albums by Steve Kuhn, Arthur Verocai, and Robert Wyatt, works that informed his creative ideas so much that he actually reached out to Kuhn and Verocai and got them to record vocals and perform on the album. It also includes appearances by pianist Niels Broos, drummers Julian Sartorius and Richard Spaven, bass guitarist Raphael Vanoli, saxophonist John Dikeman and Thundercat himself, Stephen Bruner.


01. Flake
02. Lose
03. Soup
04. Flu feat. Arthur Verocai
05. Wrong
06. Meat
07. The Zoo feat. Steve Kuhn
08. Crumble
09. Nail (Skit)
10. Toots
11. Teeth

Most Read