Jim O’Rourke and others contribute to album-length remix in support of Sohrab’s request for political asylum

Jim O’Rourke and others contribute to album-length remix in support of Sohrab's request for political asylum

Nearly a year ago, we let our readers know about Iranian ambient musician Sohrab’s stateless status following the Middle East protests that led him to leave his home in Tehran and seek political asylum in Germany. Sohrab had his request denied at the time, and since then he’s been gathering funds for lawyer’s fees and continuing to fight for legal status. Unfortunately, after all this time the situation has remained largely the same, so now Sohrab’s label Touch is rolling out the third in a series of benefit remix compilations called You Are Not Alone, pairing other sound artists with Sohrab’s raw material and letting them have at it.

Previous volumes (both still available to download) saw reworkings by Daniel Menche, JG Thirlwell, Philip Jeck, and Jóhann Jóhannsson, and the newest entry (all mixed together into one 45-minute track) features remixes by bearded man Jim O’Rourke and BJNilsen, to name a few. The digital release is available now and all £4.49 of it will go toward funding Sohrab’s ongoing appeal.

You Are Not Alone III tracklisting:

Maia Urstad, “Himmel über Bergen”
Zerocrop, “Susanna (Zerocrop remix)”
Sarah Nicolls, “Orshab”
Achim Mohné, “Syntactical audio observation of the apparatus”
BJNilsen, “Marg Bar (DUB)”
Jim O’Rourke, “Somebody”

• Sohrab: http://www.touchmusic.org.uk/sohrab
• Touch: http://www.touchmusic.org.uk

Most Read