Jim O’Rourke to Issue Double Album “Via Chicago“‘s Drag City and Streamline

Jim O'Rourke, who has worked with everyone from Derek Bailey, Mats Gustafsson, Mayo Thompson, Loren Mazzacane Connors, Merzbow, Nurse With Wound, Fennesz, Organum, Henry Kaiser, Flying Saucer Attack, Joanna Newsom, Sonic Youth, Wilco, Stereolab, Kahimi Karie, Quruli, John Fahey, Smog, Faust, Tony Conrad, The Red Krayola, Bobby Conn, Beth Orton, U.S. Maple, Takehisa Kosugi, Merce Cunningham, Werner Herzog, Olivier Assayas, Shinji Aoyama, Koji Wakamatsu, Chris Corsano, Weasel Walter, Kevin Drumm, The New Blockaders, Glenn Kotche, Carlos Giffoni, Akira Sakata, Eugene Chadbourne, Fred Lonberg-Holm, K.K. Null, John Oswald, Mari Kimura, Eddie Prévost, Alan Licht, Andrew Chalk, Christoph Heemann, Thymme Jones, Darin Gray, Dylan Posa, Carolyn Faber, David Grubbs, John McEntire, Phil Knight, and Edward Ka-Spel to Otomo Yoshihide, is set to issue another long-lost album via Streamline Records, with help from Drag City.

Titled long night, the double album was recorded nearly 20 years ago and lasts for more than two-and-a-half hours! The best part? IT'S A DRONE. The album follows a string of recent releases that have been recovered from O'Rourke's early days, including 6 Oscillators 87/Guitar 88, Mizu No Nai Umi, and “Oscillators and Guitars” (from a split with Thomas Ankersmit). It also comes on the heels of the Drag City reissues of Tamper (TMT Review) and Osorezan.

long night is set for release August 19. Expect to hear it pumping in dance clubs across the nation.

Most Read