I can’t think of any title for this article about King Krule’s new album The OOZ that doesn’t invoke the second Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie.

I can't think of any title for this article about King Krule's new album The OOZ that doesn't invoke the second Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie.
Photo: Frank Lebon

Archy Marshall, owner of a voice that would make gravel itself weep, has unveiled his latest album as King Krule. Weighing in at a hefty 19 tracks, The OOZ is out October 13 via True Panther Sounds in North America and XL Recordings in Europe, and will be the first King Krule album since 2013’s Six Feet Beneath the Moon.

If that weren’t king-kool enough, the announcement of The OOZ comes to us accompanied by a video for a great cut off the album, “Dum Surfer.” In the 2Spooky4U clip, Marshall rolls on a gurney right into a gig at an off-brand Twin Peaks Roadhouse. There, he and his band of undead ghouls rock and/or roll through “Dum Surfer” for a bunch of unsavory and sweaty-looking characters (I didn’t see James and Freddy anywhere, but the Fireman might’ve been diggin’ on it in the back?)…Idk, music videos are weird, right? I’m sure it’s all a really compelling metaphor when you sit down and think about it. Whatever, like I said, the song is great!

Don’t take my word for it though. Watch the video for “Dum Surfer” down below, and find out the secret of The OOZ for yourself when the album comes out on October 13. You can pre-order and pre-save (“pre-saving” is apparently a thing now) the album here.

The OOZ tracklisting:

01. Biscuit Town
02. The Locomotive
03. Dum Surfer
04. Slush Puppy
05. Bermondsey Bosom (Left)
06. Logos
07. Sublunary
08. Lonely Blue
09. Cadet Limbo
10. Emergency Blimp
11. Czech One
12. (A Slide In) New Drugs
13. Vidual
14. Bermondsey Bosom (Right)
15. Half Man Half Shark
16. The Cadet Leaps
17. The Ooz
18. Midnight 01(Deep Sea Diver)
19. La Lune

Most Read