Leon Vynehall announces debut album for Ninja Tune, titled Nothing Is Still, shares new new track “Envelopes (Chapter VI)”

Leon Vynehall announces debut album for Ninja Tune, titled Nothing Is Still, shares new new track "Envelopes (Chapter VI)"
Photo: Phil Sharp

Ok, so it’s not *that* uncommon to build your entire career on singles, remixes, and EPs (instead of their longer cousins) in the world of dance music; actually, it’s pretty much the standard. but EVEN STILL: Leon Vynehall has left us in awe of his organic approach to house music and insane hi-hat game so many times before, it’s hard to believe the album he’s just announced will be the British DJ’s first official full-length release. Nothing Is Still is set to come out June 15 on Ninja Tune; Vynehall has also made available the lead single of the LP, titled “Envelopes (Chapter VI).”

Crystalized on 2014 and 2015’s EPs Music for the Uninvited and Rojus (Designed to Dance), Vynehall’s own brand of deep house has always sounded like it would lend itself to the long format best: slowly unraveling and cinematic, his sprawling creations carry just as much substance and thought as chapters in a book. That said, Vynehall’s upcoming volume might not even be house music, per se. Inspired by his grandparents’ journey and immigration to New York City in the 1960s, whose story he recounts across the nine tracks of Nothing Is Still (as well as an accompanying novella and short videos), this “defiantly atmospheric and textural” record explores contemporary minimalist influences from the likes of Gavin Bryars and Phillip Glass. It was written and performed by Vynehall with the help of ten-piece string section arranged by Amy Langley, pianist Sam Bester, and Finn Peters playing saxophone and flute.

After the June release of the album, Vynehall will be taking a new live set-up on the road (dates to be announced). Before that happens, you can pre-order the album here and listen to “Envelopes (Chapter VI)” below:

Nothing Is Still tracklisting:

01. From The Sea/It Looms (Chapters I & II)
02. Movements (Chapter III)
03. Birds On The Tarmac (Footnote III)
04. Julia (Footnote IV)
05. Drinking It In Again (Chapter IV)
06. Trouble - Parts I, II, & III (Chapter V)
07. Envelopes (Chapter VI)
08. English Oak (Chapter VII)
09. Ice Cream (Chapter VIII)
10. It Breaks (Chapter IX)

Most Read