Loscil announces new album Monument Builders on Kranky

Loscil announces new album Monument Builders on Kranky

Kranky is set to release ambient veteran Loscil’s eleventh studio album, Monument Builders, on November 11. The album will follow 2014’s Sea Islands, a hypnotic piece of “self-erasing ambience,” whose TMT review you can read here.

For Monument Builders, Loscil (real name Scott Morgan) was inspired by the experimental film Koyaanisqatsi and its Philip Glass-penned score. Composed “during a period in which the life-and-death battles of close friends and family forced Morgan to examine his own feelings on mortality,” the album also picks up on the anti-humanist philosophy of John Gray and Edward Burtynsky’s famed aerial photography of the degeneration of human environment.

“Gray’s writing, particularly his book Straw Dogs: Thoughts on Humans and Other Animals, reinforced a bleak notion I had that we humans don’t have much say in how it all turns out,” says Morgan in the press release. “With Burtynsky, I was struck by the fact that something so strikingly beautiful could be the result of large-scale waste and exploitation.”

Listen to the title track from the album below:

Monument Builders tracklisting:

01. Drained Lake
02. Red Tide
03. Monument Builders
04. Straw Dogs
05. Deceiver
06. Anthropocene
07. Weeds

Most Read