Lower Dens return to perfect the human political condition with new song “Young Republicans” from their fourth album

Lower Dens return to perfect the human political condition with new song "Young Republicans" from their fourth album
The face(s) of the FUTURE (Photo: Yassine El Mansouri)

Where are the people that you love?! Are they nearby? Across oceans? Go find them, hurry! Stare deep into their eyes. Do not avert from what you find there. See the immensity of them, mind body and soul! THIS is what you need to do to prepare yourself for what I’m about to tell you!

Lower Dens have just shared a new music video for a new song called “Young Republicans” off their upcoming fourth full-length album, The Competition. Don’t click play yet though, because you truly aren’t ready for what Jana Hunter is about to do to your mind, body, and soul.

Hunter, the lead singer and songwriter for the Baltimore pop dream duo, is returning to the musical stratosphere to perfect the human condition and straight-up Mockingjay the resistance. Their presence on the newest track and video is prophetic, a godlike watchful figure that is (spoilers) literally consumed by the American ruling class.

This is to be the course par for The Competition, a politically forward pop record born out of the capitalist torture chamber of competitive social strata and physiological exploitation.

From Hunter:

The issues that have shaped my life, for better or for worse, have to do with coming from a family and a culture that totally bought into this competitive mindset. I was wild and in a lot of pain as a kid; home life was very bleak, and pop songs were a guaranteed escape to a mental space where beauty, wonder, and love were possible. I wanted to write songs that might have the potential to do that.

Find that source of love in your life and stare deeply into it. Remember that you are neither your productivity nor your projections. Internalize your locus of self worth. There you go. Now you’re ready. Put your hand on mine, and watch the video for “Young Republicans” right now. Then, only then, can you pre-order The Competition, which is out September 6 via Ribbon Music.

The Competition tracklisting:

01. Galapagos
02. Hand Of God
03. Two Faced Love
04. Young Republicans
05. Real Thing
06. Buster Keaton
07. I Drive
08. Simple Life
09. Empire Sundown
10. Lucky People
11. In Your House

Most Read