Lower Dens return with new album Escape From Evil, make big plans for L.A.-based death

Lower Dens return with new album Escape From Evil, make big plans for L.A.-based death

Lower Dens could have called it a day back in 2010. They released a great debut album with a song called “A Dog’s Dick.” What’s left to accomplish after that? Smart money says nothing, but smart money, well, smart money ain’t so smart at all. They returned two years later with another great album, admittedly one with decidedly inferior song titles. Now they’re back AGAIN with another new album, Escape From Evil, out March 31 through Ribbon Music. The search for further information on the “A Dog’s Dick” story remains elusive (“A Dog’s Dick Pt.2” bonus 7-inch??? Think about it!), though opening track title “Sucker’s Shangri-La” sounds promising.

What is it like to die in L.A.? Probably the same as everywhere else, bro bro. This concept is explored in Escape From Evil’s first single “To Die in L.A.,” which can be heard below. The record was self-produced by Dens leader Jana Hunter at Baltimore’s Beatbabies, where the band recorded their debut, with assistance from Chris Coady, Ariel Rechtshaid, and Walker Teret. Additional recording was done in Dallas with John Congleton, while the Baltimore sessions were recorded by Chris Freeland.

Currently, the group has only one announced live date: a record release show in Brooklyn on March 31 at Baby’s All Right. The band assures us, the salivating public, that there will be further dates announced in the near future.

Escape From Evil tracklist:

01. Sucker’s Shangri-La
02. Ondine
03. To Die in L.A.
04. Quo Vadis
05. Your Heart Still Beating
06. Electric Current
07. I Am The Earth
08. Non Grata
09. Company
10. Société Anonyme

• Lower Dens: http://www.lowerdens.com
• Ribbon Music: http://www.ribbonmusic.com

Most Read