Listen to two new songs from Matthew Dear’s upcoming album! Come on! All the cool kids are doing it!

Listen to two new songs from Matthew Dear's upcoming album! Come on! All the cool kids are doing it!
Photo: Chad Kamenshine

Matthew Dear just might be the leader of a cult. Let’s face it. He’s mischievous, mysterious, well-versed, enigmatic, and hey, he just has the voice for it —not to mention the hair! Can you really create such devilish electronica for over 20 years without some shady dealings? I don’t think so.

The newest of Dear’s arcane creations is Bunny, his fifth full-length album and first record under his own name since 2012’s Beams. The record will be out October 12 on Ghostly International, a label at which Dear is a founding artist and consistent resident. Bunny huh?? Perhaps one like this?

If you want to root around the garden for more clues, lucky you! Matthew Dear has released two new singles ahead of the record: “Bunny’s Dream” and “Echo,” which you can stream below. They are — in true Matthew Dear fashion — difficult to define, with a great level of saturation and twisted beats. Some part of me wants to play them backwards and listen for coded messages that tell me to fly to San Francisco or invest in Synthetic Plastics or something…

From Dear:

“I make music for people who like my music” is something I recently tweeted. There is something I’ve come to love about my career. I really can do whatever I want. So long as I feel it’s the best use of time, or yields results that translate into good music later. That’s where you’ll find the music. It’s in my head. It’s on my hard drives. It’s in my car driving the girls to school in the morning.

In other words, if you’re already a follower of Matthew Dear, rejoice! If you’re not…well, you’ll find out about your fate soon enough. Until then, go ahead and pre-order Bunny now.

Bunny tracklisting:

01. Bunny’s Dream
02. Calling
03. Can You Rush Them
04. Echo
05. Modafinil Blues
06. What You Don’t Know
07. Horses (feat. Tegan and Sara)
08. Moving Man
09. Bunny’s Interlude
10. Duke of Dens
11. Electricity
12. Kiss Me Forever
13. Bad Ones (feat. Tegan and Sara)
14. Before I Go

Most Read