Mega Bog announces fifth LP Dolphine, shares first single “Diary of a Rose”

Mega Bog announces fifth LP Dolphine, shares first single "Diary of a Rose"
Photo: Jesse DeFrancesco

A message from the unfathomed deeps of the sea will arrive on June 28, thanks to the humble envoys at Paradise of Bachelors. Mega Bog — a.k.a. Erin Elizabeth Birgy — has announced their fifth LP and first for the Chapel Hill, North Carolina label. Its title, Dolphine, refers to a mythical race of humans who, according to legend, remained living in the oceans as opposed to evolving into your boring, flipper-deprived terrestrial anthropodes. The lead single from this “album for the swimming human shadow obscured by waves,” titled “Diary of a Rose,” has just premiered on NPR.

Seattle-based Birgy has been perfecting their sci-fi-inspired, warm, and idiosyncratic Americana-pop over more than a decade now, making sure to involve plenty of close friends in the process. Dolphine was recorded Outlier Inn studio in Woodridge, New York, with the help of a tireless team that included Meg Duffy of Hand Habits, Big Thief’s James Krivchenia (who recorded and mixed the record), Zach Burba, Nick Hakim, and Ash Rickli, an Athens musician who passed away tragically not long after contributing songwriting to “Spit in the Eye of the Fire King,” the LP’s heart-rending centerpiece.

Click here to pre-order your one-way ticket to Mega Bog’s extravagant ocean floor, and listen to “Diary of a Rose” below:

Dolphine tracklisting:

01. For the Old World
02. I Hear You Listening (to the Bug on My Wall)
03. Diary of a Rose
04. Dolphine
05. Left Door
06. Spit in the Eye of the Fire King (by Ash Rickli)
07. Truth in the Wild
08. Shadows Break
09. Untitled (with “C”)
10. Fwee Again
11. Waiting in the Story

Most Read