Mercury-nominated Ty announces new album, A Work of Heart, out in March on Jazz Re:freshed, shares full album stream

Mercury-nominated Ty announces new album, A Work of Heart, out in March on Jazz Re:freshed, shares full album stream
Photo: Bunny Bread

“Break The Lock,” one of the breakout tracks from Ty’s debut album all the way back in Ye Olde 2001, was one of the many unequivocal aux-cord summer jams that came in handy when scheming to make car speakers clip. Several more records — and a few collaborations with the likes of De La Soul and Bahamadia and a Mercury Award nomination later — Brixton’s most beloved MC is back with a new LP, “A Work of Heart,” set to release on Jazz Re:freshed on March 2.

Spitting his typically intellectual, breakneck flow with plenty of quips to go around, Ty addresses the weight of the times at home and looks inward, balancing introspection and observation carefully. Without eschewing the hard-hitting rhythmic components that made his previous albums so memorable, like the industrial push and pull of “Eyes Open” and the synth-driven boom bap of “Folks Say People Say,” Ty infuses a newfound sense of spirituality and resilience throughout. Soulful vocal cuts and triumphant, brassy overtures abound.

Having produced his own beats, Ty built every melody and groove from start to finish throughout “A Work Of Heart.” “I created (the album) whilst thinking what the album is actually telling you. This is my life’s work, it’s how I feel, and it’s a catharsis,” he said. Stream the whole album below, check out the cover art and full tracklist, and pre-order the album here.

A Work of Heart tracklisting:

01. WorKINGTro
02. Eyes Open ft. OG ROOTZ (formerly Durrty Goodz) & DEBORAH JORDAN
03. Somehow Somewhere Someway ft. UMAR BIN HASSAN (of The Last Poets)
04. Brixton Baby ft. MPHO
05. Work Of Heart
07. No Place To Run ft. JULIE DEXTER & JASON YARDE
08. You Gave Me ft. LASHARVU
09. Harpers Revenge! ft. PHILLIP HARPER & WAYNE FRANCIS
10. Folks Say People Say
11. World Of Flaws ft. JOHN ROBINSON
12. Raindrops
13. The Raspberry ft. N’FA JONES & REMI
14. As The Smoke Clears ft. RANDOLPH MATTHEWS & MALIK MD7 (Produced by Tall Black Guy)

Most Read