Modest Mouse take long drive with nothing to think about, end up deciding to reissue This is a Long Drive and Lonesome Crowded West

Modest Mouse take long drive with nothing to think about, end up deciding to reissue This is a Long Drive and Lonesome Crowded West

So, okay. These days, Modest Mouse pretty much seem to follow that Pixies-model of band-existence, wherein you just kinda exist to perennially remind people about the cool records you put out several decades earlier via various reissue campaigns and live tours. Therefore, it comes as little surprise that the band has announced some pretty stinking-of-posterity plans to reissue their first two albums on vinyl. Yup, we’re talking about brand-new vinyl reissues of 1996’s This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About and 1997’s The Lonesome Crowded West. They’ll be released on October 28 and November 4 respectively on front dude Isaac Brock’s Glacial Pace label (with a little help from Fat Possum), and each will be pressed to super sexy double LP’s of extremely important-sounding and SUPER HEAVY 180-gram vinyl, so I hope you have free shipping from Amazon or whatever.

Slightly more interestingly, however, is the news that the band is also prepping a pair of 7-inch singles replete with seven inches-worth of unreleased material from these albums! Yup. The This Is a Long Drive 7-inch contains an early version of “White Lies, Yellow Teeth” (which you can check out below) and “Buttons to Push the Buttons” (which appeared on the band’s Interstate 8 EP), and the Lonesome Crowded West 7-inch contains the tracks “Too Many Fiestas for Reuben” and an early version of “Cowboy Dan”. Isn’t that slightly more interesting? See, I TOLD YOU!

This Is a Long Drive for Someone With Nothing to Think About tracklisting:

01. Dramamine
02. Breakthrough
03. Custom Concern
04. Might
05. Lounge
06. Beach Side Property
07. She Ionizes & Atomizes
08. Head South
09. Dog Paddle
10. Novocain Stain
11. Tundra/Desert
12. Ohio
13. Exit Does Not Exist
14. Talking Shit About a Pretty Sunset
15. Make Everyone Happy/Mechanical Birds
16. Space Travel Is Boring
17. Edit the Sad Parts
18. A Manic Depressive Named Laughing Boy

The Lonesome Crowded West tracklisting:

01. Teeth Like God’s Shoeshine
02. Heart Cooks Brain
03. Convenient Parking
04. Lounge (Closing Time)
05. Jesus Christ Was an Only Child
06. Doin’ the Cockroach
07. Cowboy Dan
08. Trailer Trash
09. Out of Gas
10. Long Distance Drunk
11. Shit Luck
12. Truckers Atlas
13. Polar Opposites
14. Bankrupt on Selling
15. Styrofoam Boots/It’s All Nice on Ice, Alright
16. Baby Blue Sedan

Modest Mouse on eternal tour:

09.17.14 - El Paso, TX - El Paso County Coliseum
09.19.14 - Monterrey, Mexico - Hellow Festival
09.23.14 - Pioneertown, CA - Pappy & Harriets
09.24.14 - Paso Robles, CA - Vina Robles Amphitheatre
09.26.14 - San Francisco, CA - The Masonic
09.28.14 - Portland, OR - Project Pabst @ Zidell Yards
11.08.14 - Austin, TX - Fun Fun Fun Fest

• Modest Mouse:
• Glacial Pace:
• Fat Possum:

Most Read