The Mountain Goats announce new album Goths, share first single, suddenly feel young and charismatically-depressed again

The Mountain Goats announce new album Goths, share first single, suddenly feel young and charismatically-depressed again

If you grew up as a Generation X introvert, then you probably experienced a shift away from a childhood obsession with professional wrestling to a childhood obsession with goth rock, eventually exchanging your brightly colored spandex singlets for a dresser full of identical Sisters of Mercy T-shirts. Lucky for you, it appears indie rock legends The Mountain Goats have now put this universally-experienced phenomenon into song with the announcement of their new album on Merge, out May 19. It’s titled Goths, and it follows-up the most recognized wrestling-themed rock album of 2015, Beat the Champ. Only ’80s kids will get this!

About the album’s theme, bassist Peter Hughes says that Goths “approaches an identity most often associated with youth from a perspective that is inescapably adult,” additionally claiming that “anyone old enough to have had the experience of finding oneself at sea in a cultural landscape that’s suddenly indecipherable will empathize with Pat Travers showing up to a Bauhaus show looking to jam, for example.” The press release also notes that The Mountain Goats are “gothic for life,” so purists can step off.

Goths was recorded in Nashville’s Blackbird Studios with producer Brandon Eggleston and mixer Scott Solter, two longtime collaborators of the band. The record is currently available for pre-order at all your favorite outlets.

The Mountain Goats have also shared the album’s first single, “Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back to Leeds.” While it isn’t much of a goth track, it is a classic Mountain Goats banger. Listen to it below alongside the tracklisting for Goths, and recapture your shining adolescence.

Goths tracklisting:

01. Rain in Soho
02. Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back to Leeds
03. The Grey King and the Silver Flame Attunement
04. We do it Different on the West Coast
05. Unicorn Tolerance
06. Stench of the Unburied
07. Wear Black
08. Paid in Cocaine
09. Rage of Travers
10. Shelved
11. For the Portuguese Goth Metal Bands
12. Abandoned Flesh

Most Read