Mudhoney announce first official live album, LiE, on Sub Pop; are totally 100% serious about this

Mudhoney announce first official live album, LiE, on Sub Pop; are totally 100% serious about this
Photo: Vincent van Nes

If there’s one thing I can say about the honest, down to earth, hardworking, healthy, well-groomed, church-going, cat-petting, and not-at-all flatulent gentlemen in longtime Seattle “grunge” institution Mudhoney, it’s that they would never ever lie to their fans.

So when they say that they’ll be releasing their first-EVER official live album — entitled LiE (or: “Live in Europe”) — on January 28 via Sub Pop as an eminently pre-order-able LP and/or digital download…I’m pretty sure we can take their words for it.

And then they further assure us that a “500-piece, limited-edition of the LP, on heavy, milky clear vinyl with a bonus 7-inch single” (“Touch Me I’m Sick” b/w “Where the Flavor Is”) in alternate packaging will also be available for pre-order at this whole OTHER merch store (even though it’s located in the United Kingdom, which is admittedly not as wholesome-seeming a place as those purple mountains’ majesty in the Pacific Northwest)…heck, I still think we ought to believe ‘em.

Shoot: even when they strain the limits of credulity with claims that the tracks for LiE were all “recorded live during their 2016 European tour at shows in Germany, Croatia, Sweden, Austria, Norway, and Slovenia” — and that “LiE is the first unlimited-edition, non-bootleg live Mudhoney album to date” — and that they’ll also totally, definitely, certainly be releasing an as-yet-undisclosed brand new studio album soon…well, I still freakin’ say that Seattle’s favorite sons would never steer us wrong! I mean, this Mudhoney we’re talking about, for heaven’s sake; not those two-timing sleazebags in Foo Fighters or Pearl Jam or whatever!

LiE tracklisting:

01. Fuzz Gun ‘91 (Primosten, Croatia - from Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge)
02. Get Into Yours (Berlin, Germany - from Mudhoney)
03. Poisoned Water (Primosten, Croatia - from Tomorrow Hit Today)
04. The Final Course (Malmo, Sweden - from Vanishing Point)
05. What to Do With the Neutral (Malmo, Sweden - from Vanishing Point)
06. I’m Now (Malmo, Sweden - from The Lucky Ones)
07. Judgement, Rage,Retribution and Thyme (Vienna, Austria - from My Brother the Cow)
08. I Like It Small (Oslo, Norway - from Vanishing Point)
09. Suck You Dry (Malmo, Sweden - from Piece of Cake)
10. Editions of You (Ljubljana, Slovenia - from the “Butterfly Stroke” 7” and the March to Fuzz comp)
11. Broken Hands (Ljubljana, Slovenia - from Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge

Most Read