New album from Parts & Labor out in March; bill in the mail, including delivery fees

New album from Parts & Labor out in March; bill in the mail, including delivery fees

It’s funny in retrospect that months of waiting culminate in one night, or one afternoon: a big party, a graduation, getting married (not you, though — that’s totally lame). In Parts & Labor’s case, the last two years are coming together for 39 minutes. The noisy Brooklyn collective (which one again?) have announced the release date of their new full-length: March 8, on Jagjaguwar Records, their first since 2008’s Receivers (TMT Review). Despite being together almost a decade now, they call it a “career-defining statement” — which I guess means that until now they’ve been an amorphous foursome banging on drums and fumbling with keyboards. Finally the sum of their parts, perhaps?

Their fifth album, optimistically called Constant Future, was mixed and produced by Dave Fridmann, known for producing little-known acts like The Flaming Lips, Sparklehorse, Mogwai, Black Moth Super Rainbow, and MGMT’s Metanoia 10-inch. Just to make sure that nothing seems too sophisticated (with that wear-a-suit-to-work vibe), Parts & Labor traveled to Milwaukee to record the album in a former boxing ring. How off-kilter!

Constant Future tracklisting:

01. Fake Names
02. Outnumbered
03. Constant Future
04. A Thousand Roads
05. Rest
06. Pure Annihilation
07. Skin and Bones
08. Echo Chamber
09. Without a Seed
10. Bright White
11. Hurricane
12. Never Changer

• Parts & Labor:
• Jagjaguwar:

Most Read