New Tim Buckley Live Album Drops in August with Previously Unheard Songs

What’s worse than watching a young musical genius get cut down ruthlessly in the prime of his creative life? Seeing the exact same thing happen to that person’s young musical genius son. Although they met only once, father Tim Buckley and son Jeff shared many things through their melodious blood. Both had robust crowns of chestnut hair, both were packing fuckin’ Sistine Chapels in their throats, and neither one can be mentioned without inevitably drawing attention to the other. The son he never wanted, the father he never had, forever piggybacked upon one another through the annals of pop music. Goddamn, why hasn’t the legend of Buckley & Son been made into a One Life to Live story arc yet?

But on March 6, 1967, while four-month old Jeff was most likely sleeping and farting in his mother’s arms, father Tim, then only one album deep into his extraordinary career, took the stage at Izzy Young’s Folklore Center in Greenwich Village in front of a somber crowd of 35 people. That night, the senior Buckley played a mixture of songs from his 1966 self-titled debut and 1967’s upcoming Goodbye and Hello, as well as a half dozen tunes that never made it on any Tim Buckley record. That is, until August 25, 2009, when Tompkins Square Records releases a completely restored recording of the show in its entirety. Packaged along with a previously unpublished interview with Buckley conducted by Young, on paper Live at the Folklore Center appears to be a much-needed early account of a challenging artist whose body of work has only become difficult with the passage of lives and time. So how's bout it, Buckheads? Excited? I know I am!


1. Song for Jainie
2. I Never asked to Be Your Mountain
3. Wings
4. Phantasmagoria in Two
5. Just Please Leave Me #
6. Dolphins
7. I Can’t See You
8. Troubadour
9. Aren’t You the Girl
10. What Do You Do (He Never Saw You) #
11. No Man Can Find the War
12. Carnival Song
13. Cripples Cry #
14. If the Rain Comes #
15. Country Boy #
16. I Can’t Leave You Loving Me #

# indicates previously unreleased Tim Buckley composition

Most Read