Nicole Dollanganger to release album through Grimes’s new not-a-label Eerie Organization

Nicole Dollanganger to release album through Grimes's new not-a-label Eerie Organization

Nicole Dollanganger is an Ontario-based singer-songwriter who’s released a number of home-recorded albums over the past few years, one of which features cover art that might make you barf or cry. And that music has the power to blow up Grimes’s brain. And that brain blowing-up has the power to make Grimes, a.k.a. Claire Boucher, create an artist co-operative just to put out more of that music. And that co-operative, known as Eerie Organization, will be putting out Dollanganger’s first studio-recorded album Natural Born Losers on October 9. Listen to the album’s closing track “You’re So Cool” below.

Look, I’m not exaggerating about the brain-explosion thing. Here’s what Boucher herself said: “It blew up my brain so hard that I literally started Eerie to fucking put it out because it’s a crime against humanity for this music not to be heard.” See, I’m not a liar! Anyway, beyond putting out Natural Born Losers, the organization exists to help artists accomplish more than they would on their own, while not forcing them to sacrifice their independence.

Eerie is set to put out Grimes’s forthcoming album in Canada, though the record will be handled by other entities elsewhere. So with two releases set for the year, Eerie must be the hot new record label? No, dummy. Boucher stresses that the organization is not a record label, as it has no full staff and does not accept submission. So don’t try to send a tape there, unless you want to make more trash. Actually, you’d just love that, wouldn’t you, trash fetishist? You’re gross.

Natural Born Losers tracklist:

01. Poacher’s Pride
02. Mean
03. White Trashing
04. Swan
05. In The Land
06. Alligator Blood
07. Executioner
08. American Tradition
09. Angels of Porn (ii)
10. A Marvelous Persona
11. You’re So Cool

[Photo: Susie Bell]

• Nicole Dollanganger:
• Eerie Organization:

Most Read