Okkervil River unveil Black Sheep Boy 10th Anniversary Edition with new covers album, ride the subsequent wave of buzz on a handful of tour dates

Okkervil River unveil Black Sheep Boy 10th Anniversary Edition with new covers album, ride the subsequent wave of buzz on a handful of tour dates

Fire up the ol’ 10th Anniversary Machine again, readers: we’ve got a real live one here! This time around, it’s Will Sheffield and his merry band of highly-literate folk rock troubadours in Okkervil River, who are poised to make us all open our big dumb idiot-mouths and say “I can’t believe that was TEN YEARS AGO!” with the reissue of their classic 2005 Jagjaguwar album Black Sheep Boy.

Yup, it’s already been a decade. And in celebration of the milestone, Jagjaguwar is releasing a very special 10th Anniversary Edition of said record on December 4, which comprises a “three-LP set combining the classic Black Sheep Boy album and its counterpart the Black Sheep Boy Appendix with an all new unreleased album of covers entitled There Swims A Swan: “full-band recordings made six months prior to the release of Black Sheep Boy which illuminate the album’s roots in the traditional American songbook.”

Got all that? Good! Because I’m not going to repeat it, and I REFUSE to let you reread it! Anyway, the reissue also comes complete with a “meticulously reworked packaging, combining every previous element of […] Schaff’s imagery - not to mention a large new piece by Schaff depicting an updated Black Sheep Boy,” as well as “lengthy liner notes by […] Schaff walking the listener through the circumstances surrounding the album.” Ooh! Lengthy!

In addition to all this craziness, the band has announced a handful of shows for late this fall/winter, during which they’ll perform both Black Sheep Boy and Black Sheep Boy Appendix in their entirety. But while you’re waiting for THOSE to change your life forever, why not pre-order the goods with all your “10th Anniversary Edition Albums Fund” money you’ve got saved and check out a previously unreleased track, a cover of Tom House’s “I’m in Love With Susan Smith,” down below. Go ahead. Your younger, fitter, healthier, happier, more optimistic self would have wanted you to…

Black Sheep Boy 10th Anniversary Edition:

Volume I: Black Sheep Boy:

01. Black Sheep Boy
02. For Real
03. In a Radio Song
04. Black
05. Get Big
06. A King and a Queen
07. A Stone
08. The Latest Toughs
09. Song of Our So-Called Friend
10. So Come Back, I Am Waiting
11. A Glow

Volume II: Black Sheep Boy Appendix:

01. Missing Children
02. No Key, No Plan
03. A Garden
04. Black Sheep Boy #4
05. The Next Four Months
06. Another Radio Song
07. A Forest
08. Last Love Song For Now

Volume III: There Swims a Swan:

01. Goodnight Irene
02. I’m in Love With Susan Smith
03. See See Rider
04. Knoxville Girl
05. Satan Is Real
06. Good Liquor Gonna Carry Me Down
07. Willow Tree
08. Moonshiner
09. Oh, The Wind and Rain
10. What Are They Doing in Heaven Today
11. Trouble in Mind

Okkervil-ish river of tourdates:

11.20.15 - Washington, DC - Black Cat ^
11.21.15 - New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom ^
11.24.15 - Cambridge, MA - The Sinclair ^
12.14.15 - Seattle, WA - Columbia City Theater &
12.15.15 - Portland, OR - Doug Fir Lounge &
12.18.15 - San Francisco, CA - Swedish American Hall &
12.19.15 - Los Angeles, CA - The Masonic Lodge &

^ An Evening With Okkervil River
& Okkervil River (solo)

• Okkervil River: http://okkervilriver.com
• Jagjaguwar: http://www.jagjaguwar.com

Most Read