Omar Rodríguez-López (At The Drive-In, Mars Volta) to release 12 solo albums on Ipecac

Omar Rodríguez-López (At The Drive-In, Mars Volta) to release 12 solo albums on Ipecac
Photo: Robin Laananen

Omar Rodríguez-López’s prolificacy as a songwriter has always put many of his peers to shame, but he’s really outdone himself now. The At The Drive-In guitarist and former Mars Volta member is going to release 12 (!) solo albums by the end of the year, all coming through Mike Patton’s imprint Ipecac Recordings.

The first in the series, titled Sworn Virgins, arrives July 15; from then on, Ipecac is going to drop a new Rodríguez-López album every two weeks, finishing with Some Need It Lonely on December 16. A limited-edition CD/LP box set is planned to follow the initial run of releases.

All 12 of the albums were recorded between 2008-2013, mostly during the musician’s stay in Zapopan, Mexico. The label’s representatives admit they themselves were somewhat surprised by Rodríguez-López’ productivity, remarking jokingly “[…] it seems that he has blatantly taken advantage of our friendship. Sure, we were excited to release his solo catalog… but this many titles??????? What have we gotten ourselves into?”

In fact, Sworn Virgins will be the 27th solo album from the Texas-raised powerhouse. In 2011, the compilation album Telesterion brought together some of the highlights of his extensive solo career. Watch the official video to one of them below:

Omar Rodríguez-López release schedule:

Sworn Virgins (July 15)
Corazones (July 29)
Blind Worms Pious Swine (August 12)
Arañas en La Sombra (August 26)
Umbrella Mistress (September 9)
El Bien Y Mal Nos Une (September 23)
Cell Phone Bikini (October 7)
Infinity Drips (October 21)
Weekly Mansions (November 4)
Zapopan (November 18)
Nom De Guerre Cabal (December 2)
Some Need It Lonely (December 16)

Most Read