Oneohtrix Point Never to drop Good Time OST on Warp, shares full Iggy Pop collaboration

Oneohtrix Point Never to drop Good Time OST on Warp, shares full Iggy Pop collaboration

Oneohtrix Point Never makes his returnal (✌) this year with some damn fine soundtrack work. As we recently reported, Mr. Daniel Lopatin won the coveted Best Soundtrack Award at the Cannes Festival for his work on the Safdie brothers’ upcoming film Good Time, and now he’s revealed that the soundtrack will drop August 11 via Warp, the same day as the film’s theatrical debut. Pre-orders are available here.

The announcement coincides with the full release of Oneohtrix Point Never’s joint track with Iggy Pop, titled “The Pure and the Damned.” The song was originally teased last month in the film’s trailer, but you can now hear it in its glorious entirety below, preceded by gushing comments from Josh Safdie and Oneohtrix Point Never.

Josh Safdie: “About 8 years ago, we were turned onto the music of Oneohtrix Point Never. I had always imagined Dan’s work, especially his earlier work, as soundtracks to movies that never existed. From our collaboration on Good Time, and through the twisted dialogue that surrounded it, we have gained a deep friendship and of course a fluorescent extra-terrestrial score. We set forth on that concept with Dan well before production and to hear it boom throughout Cannes… well it seemed like some sort of high-resolution fantasy.”

Daniel Lopatin: “I had a good feeling when I walked into their midtown office, which was more like a shrine to everything they loved — amongst which was a massive Akira print side by side with one of King of New York. They told me they were setting out to make a genre film. To me the Safdies are doing something really unique and yet drenched in tradition. I think of Jarmusch, Tarantino, Carax — directors whose love of the history of cinema is too strong to keep out of the filmmaking itself, but remain totally idiosyncratic anyway. We share an affection and reverence for bruised and battered stuff, and I think we both feel this urge to enshrine the history as it is now, not as it was then. On our own terms.”

Good Time OST tracklist:

01. Good Time
02. Bail Bonds
03. 6th Floor
04. Hospital Escape / Access-A-Ride
05. Ray Wakes Up
06. Entry To White Castle
07. Flashback
08. Adventurers
09. Romance Apocalypse
10. The Acid Hits
11. Leaving The Park
12. Connie
13. The Pure and the Damned featuring Iggy Pop

Most Read